by Sara Russell Gonzalez; Denise Beaubien Bennett
Publication Date: 2016-03-31
Planning and implementing a 3D printing service in a library may seem like a daunting task. Based upon the authors experience as early adopters of 3D technology and running a successful 3D printing service at a large academic library, this guide provides the steps to follow when launching a service in any type of library. Detailed guidance and over 50 graphics provide readers with sage guidance and detailed instructions on: .planning a proposal .printer selection tips .preparing the location .addressing staff concerns for new service .developing service workflows and procedures .managing inevitable disasters .developing policies .conducting the reference interview for 3D printing .staff training tips .outreach activities This book brings into one place all the guidance you need for developing and implementing a 3D printing service in any library."
Best STEM Resources for NextGen Scientists
by Jennifer L. Hopwood
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Intended to support the national initiative to strengthen learning in areas of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, this book helps librarians who work with youth in school and public libraries to build better collections and more effectively use these collections through readers' advisory and programming. * Introduces more than 500 STEM resource suggestions for toddlers to young adults * Highlights more than 25 detailed library program or activity suggestions to be paired with STEM book titles * Provides resource suggestions for professional development * Contains bonus sections on STEM-related graphic novels, apps, and other media
The Big6 Curriculum
by Michael B. Eisenberg; Janet R. Murray; Colet Bartow; Susann Wurster
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
This practical, hands-on book explains how to ensure that your students are information and communication technology literate—that is, competent with a range of tools, technologies, and techniques for seeking out and applying information. * Helps librarians better understand and implement the information and communication technology (ICT) skills required of 21st-century students * Presents dozens of figures, templates, and lessons to aid librarians in implementing comprehensive ICT literacy programs that reach all students in all schools * Provides highly relevant concepts for librarians at all schools or districts seeking to achieve local, state, or Common Core educational standards
Career Transitions for Librarians
by Davis Erin Anderson (Editor); Raymond Pun (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
What if you were a public librarian and then you wanted to become an academic librarian? How different are those worlds and how would you know what kind of skills or experiences you need to get your foot into the academic door? Career Transitions for Librarians: How to Get a Job in Another Type of Library explores the multifaceted roles of the librarian profession from personal narratives of professional librarians who have successfully worked and transitioned from one type of library to another. Learn the successful strategies and stories of librarians who transitioned from public to academic libraries, school media to academic libraries, public to special libraries, print to digital worlds, among other ones. .What kinds of skill sets and experiences were they able to transfer or draw on from their previous work experiences? .How can you make these successful transitions as well? From interview tips to developing relevant and transferable skill sets, this unique guide offers testimonials with a targeted advice and job strategies for readers interested in making these successful transitions during a time when there is a huge difficulty in securing a library job."
Cataloging and Classification
by Lois Mai Chan; Athena Salaba
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
The fourth edition of the late Lois Mai Chan's classic Cataloging and Classification covers the analysis and representation of methods used in describing, organizing, and providing access to resources made available in or through libraries. Since the last edition published in 2007, there have been dramatic changes in cataloging systems from the Library of Congress. The most notable being the shift from AACR2 to Resource Description and Access (RDA) as the new standard developed by the Library of Congress. With the help of the coauthor, Athena Salaba, this text is modified throughout to conform to the new standard. Retaining the overall outline of the previous edition, this text presents the essence of library cataloging and classification in terms of three basic functions: descriptive cataloging, subject access, and classification. Within this framework, all chapters have been rewritten to incorporate the changes that have occurred during the interval between the third and fourth editions. In each part, the historical development and underlying principles of the retrieval mechanism at issue are treated first, because these are considered essential to an understanding of cataloging and classification. Discussion and examples of provisions in the standards and tools are then presented in order to illustrate the operations covered in each chapter. Divided into five parts a general overview; record production and structure, encoding formats, and metadata records; RDA; subject access and controlled vocabularies; and the organization of library resources each part of the book begins with a list of the standards and tools used in the preparation and processing of that part of the cataloging record covered, followed by suggested background readings selected to help the reader gain an overview of the subject to be presented. This book is the standard text for the teaching and understanding of cataloging and classification."
by Bess G. de Farber
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
A collaborative approach to grant seeking can stimulate and reshape the culture of your library organization. The exciting and rewarding activities of developing a successful grants program can yield enormous dividends for the benefit of your staff, patrons, and community. Collaborative Grant-Seeking: A Practical Guide for Librarians will share new insights for those who want to access grant funding without reinventing the wheel. Based on years of practical grant writing and collaboration development experience, this resource provides a complete guide for setting up a library grant-seeking program, and for combining forces with community partners to increase grant funding to libraries. Venturing into the grants world can be scary and unpredictable. This book offers detailed strategies and practical steps to establish a supportive and collaborative environment that creates the capacity to consistently develop fundable proposals, and gives readers the confidence needed to make grant-seeking activities commonplace within libraries. Collaborative Grant Seeking will share featured topics unavailable in other grant writing publications, such as: .interpreting sponsor guidelines .identifying appropriate funding programs .determining the feasibility of project ideas .asset-based (vs. need-based) proposal development strategies .actual examples of successful and unusual library projects .initiating and sustaining collaborative relationships"
Collecting for the Curriculum
by Amy J. Catalano
Publication Date: 2015-09-28
If you're a librarian charged with collecting curriculum materials and children's literature to support the Common Core State Standards, then this book--the only one that offers explicit advice on collection development in curriculum collections--is for you. * Draws on current research and interviews with some of the most experienced curriculum librarians in the United States to help faculty and teachers better understand the Common Core * Provides explicit applications of the CCSS for librarians working in post-secondary institutions * Covers the diverse teaching strategies of faculty and teachers * Includes an extensive appendix with lists of books that support all curricular areas, as well as lesson ideas and other resources * Offers a regularly updated companion website
The Common Core in Action
by Deborah J. Jesseman
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
This book addresses Common Core State Standard curriculum resources to assist the school librarian in collaborating with classroom teachers. * Offers you the opportunity to exercise leadership in your school, playing a key role in the implementation of the CCSS in all subject areas and collaborating with instructors to co-teach lessons correlated with the standards * Provides ready-to-implement lesson plans cross-referenced to the CCSS for all grade levels * Shares collection development planning guidelines relating to the CCSS * Includes resource suggestions and additional lesson plans in all content areas
Creating and Promoting Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries
by Donna L. Gilton
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Creating and Promoting Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries: Tools and Tips For Practitioners is the sequel to Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries: Principles, Programs, and People. On the one hand, Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries focuses on the information needs and the developmental and psychological characteristics of diverse library users of all ages. It endorses the use of ILI to promote lifelong learning in public libraries, both by borrowing techniques from academic and school libraries and by building on existing public library traditions of programming and outreach. This book also compares lifelong learning in public libraries to informal and nonformal education in museums, community organizations and agencies, places of worship, and other organizations. In addition, Lifelong Learnng in Public Libraries describes basic steps that librarians can execute in order to get started. On the other hand, Creating and Promoting Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries focuses much more on how public librarians can specifically plan and implement their instruction with chapters on planning for instruction, using teaching methodologies, teaching with and about technology, and bringing ILI together with more traditional public library services, programming, and activities, such as reference and Readers Advisory services, bibliotherapy, and cultural and literacy programming. Changes in ILI standards and comparisons of ILI with basic reading, media, digital, and cultural literacies are also described. Both books together should act as basic manuals for public librarians who promote lifelong learning. Creating and Promoting Lifelong Learning in Public Libraries also have helpful teaching hints for all librarians and other professionals who teach in a variety of settings."
Creative Management of Small Public Libraries in the 21st Century
by Carol Smallwood (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014-12-23
Creative Management of Small Public Libraries in the 21st Century is an anthology on small public libraries as centers of communities serving populations under 25,000 that make up most of the public library systems in the United States. A wide selection of topics was sought from contributors with varied backgrounds reflecting the diversity of small public libraries. The thirty-two chapters are arranged: Staff; Programming; Management; Technology; Networking; Fundraising; User Services and provide tools to lead a local public library with relevant and successful services. This volume shares a common sense approach to providing a small (in staff size or budget) but mighty (in impact and outcome) public library service. The contributors demonstrate that by turning the service delivery team outward to the community with enthusiasm and positive energy, it is possible to achieve significant results. Many chapters summarize best practices that can serve as checklists for the novice library director or as a review for the more seasoned manager working through new responsibilities. Chapters are tactical, focusing on specific issues for managers such as performance evaluations, effective programming, or e-reader services. Time management is crucial in a small or rural public library as well as the challenges associated with managing Friends and volunteers. While most public libraries do not have the resources to satisfy customer expectations for instant gratification, ultra-convenience and state-of-the-art technologies, The authors of this book details strategies and methods for providing top-notch customer service while moving beyond customer service to the creation of meaningful customer relationships. This volume makes an important contribution to the literature by reminding us that public libraries transform communities of every size. In fact, never before has the role of the public library been a more critical thread in the fabric of community life.
by D. R. Harvey; Gillian Oliver
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
As an in-depth explanation of the entire digital curation lifecycle, from creation to appraisal to preservation to organization/access to transformation, the first edition of this text set a benchmark for both thoroughness and clarity. Boasting the expert guidance of international authorities Oliver and Harvey, this revamped and expanded edition widens the scope to address continuing developments in the strategies, technological approaches, and activities that are part of this rapidly changing field. In addition to current practitioners, those pursuing a career as librarian, archivist, or records manager will find this definitive survey invaluable. Filled with up-to-date best practices, it covers such important topics as the scope and incentives of digital curation, detailing Digital Curation Centre's (DCC) lifecycle model as well as the Data Curation Continuum; key requirements for digital curation, from description and representation to planning and collaboration; the value and utility of metadata; considering the needs of producers and consumers when creating an appraisal and selection policy for digital objects; the paradigm shift by institutions towards cloud computing and its impact on costs, storage, and other key aspects of digital curation; the quality and security of data; new and emerging data curation resources, including innovative digital repository software and digital forensics tools; mechanisms for sharing and reusing data, with expanded sections on open access, open data, and open standards initiatives; and processes to ensure that data are preserved and remain usable over time. Useful as both a teaching text and day-to-day working guide, this book outlines the essential concepts and techniques that are crucial to preserving the longevity of digital resources.
Digital Preservation for Libraries, Archives, and Museums
by Edward M. Corrado; Heather Lea Moulaison
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
Digital Preservation in Libraries, Archives, and Museums represents a new approach to getting started with digital preservation: that of what cultural heritage professionals need to know as they begin their work. For administrators and practitioners alike, the information in this book is presented readably, focusing on management issues and best practices. Although this book addresses technology, it is not solely focused on technology. After all, technology changes and digital preservation is aimed for the long term. This is not a how-to book giving step-by-step processes for certain materials in a given kind of system. Instead, it addresses a broad group of resources that could be housed in any number of digital preservation systems. Finally, this book is about things (not technology; not how-to; not theory) I wish I knew before I got started. Digital preservation is concerned with the life cycle of the digital object in a robust and all-inclusive way. Many Europeans and some North Americans may refer to digital curation to mean the same thing, taking digital preservation to be the very limited steps and processes needed to insure access over the long term. The authors take digital preservation in the broadest sense of the term: looking at all aspects of curating and preserving digital content for long term access. The book is divided into four parts based on the Digital Preservation Triad: 1.Situating Digital Preservation, 2.Management Aspects, 3.Technology Aspects, and 4.Content-Related Aspects. The book includes a foreword by Michael Lesk, eminent scholar and forerunner in digital librarianship and preservation. The book features an appendix providing additional information and resources for digital preservationists. Finally, there is a glossary to support a clear understanding of the terms presented in the book. Digital Preservation will answer questions that you might not have even known you had, leading to more successful digital preservation initiatives."
Digitizing Flat Media
by Joy M. Perrin
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Digitizing Flat Media: Principles and Practices is a concise guide to converting flat media (books, papers, maps, posters, slides, micro formots, etc.) into digital files. It provides librarians and archivists with the practical knowledge to understand the process of and make decisions regarding the digitization of flat media. It takes more than just a scanner and some metadata to digital something. This guide illustrates such practical aspects of digitization as, the physical challenges of scanning books without cutting the spine, the difference between a scanner that uses a scanning head and a scanner that uses a camera, the options for workflow of digitized items, the reasons for choosing one scanner over another besides price. This book is intended to give librarians and archivists that benefit of a seasoned professional to guide them through the digitization process. Book jacket.
Digitizing Your Collection
by Susanne Caro; Sam Meister (Contribution by); Tammy Ravas (Contribution by); Wendy Walker (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Digitizing your collection is not only a great way to increase access to your materials, it also engages patrons on a whole new level and helps communicate your library's value. But with staff time and resources already spread thin, it can be a challenge to plan and undertake a digitization initiative. The good news is that public libraries across the country have done just that. Here, the authors share lessons and tips for success, showing the way to getting your collection online. With succinct and practical guidance that can be adapted to any size institution, this book explains why public libraries should take digitization seriously, listing key points that can be used to get stakeholders on board; points out what you should consider before undertaking a digitization project; discusses copyright and other access-related issues; shows how public libraries are handling funding and finding collaborative partners; shares ways that libraries have used digitization projects for community outreach and to promote collections; and offers advice on marketing and media. Many libraries across the country have found ways to create wonderful digital collections, and this book shows you how you can too.
Digitizing Your Community's History
by Alex Hoffman
Publication Date: 2016-04-20
Follow the blueprint in this book to launch a library DIY community history digitization program--one that provides the access and fosters engagement with patrons to sustain the program over time. * Takes readers through establishing local history digitization projects at the community level from start to finish, providing guidance on how to set up, maintain, and sustain ongoing digitization projects * Describes how to train library users for digitization--instructions that are also applicable for including volunteers in digitization projects * Explains how creating a DIY history digitization project can provide a community benefit and serve as a form of outreach that also enriches a library's local history collection
Engaging Babies in the Library
by Debra J. Knoll
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Public libraries across the nation continue to transform themselves into learning centers for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. There are many resources available to help librarians create baby-friendly play spaces and enhanced storytimes, but until now there has been gap in the literature addressing the developmental needs and changing behaviors of babies and toddlers. Parents and caregivers can also present unique service challenges. Focusing squarely on the how of providing quality library service to babies and families, Knoll's new book provides sensible, sensitive advice on meeting their physical, emotional, intellectual, and social needs. Geared towards helping public libraries foster healthy growth and development for their littlest patrons, this book: explores multiple aspects in the developing life of a baby, discussing physical needs, emotional expressions, intellectual pursuits, and social development; highlights real-life examples from public libraries that relate to how these developmental processes present themselves while babies and families interact in the library; presents Baby Steps for each topical area, providing service tips and suggestions that can be easily or inexpensively put into practice; offers Big Steps, conversational points that invite librarians to think creatively about further investment, support, funding, and collaborative efforts; and includes carefully selected research findings and other information that can be used for planning, policymaking, and advocacy. With Knoll's guidance, children's librarians will be informed and inspired to rise to the challenge of providing quality service to babies, toddlers, and care providers.
Excellent Books for Early and Eager Readers
by Kathleen T. Isaacs
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
For children, reading level and experience level are not always the same. Eager readers are often interested in ideas and topics that seem advanced, but situations and subjects that sixth graders can handle with aplomb may be emotionally confusing for a younger child. Early and eager readers deserve stories they can get into, information that's challenging and up-to-date, and ideas that are new and stimulating, all while remaining age appropriate. Here, children's lit expert Isaacs offers 300 book recommendations for early able readers ages 4-10, honing in on writing that will challenge but not frustrate young readers. Assisting librarians, teachers, and caregivers, this resource provides recommended titles both old and new in a multitude of genres, including short stories, mystery, fantasy, adventure, picture books, poetry, historical fiction, classics, biography, folklore, mythology, fairy tales, animal fantasy, and nonfiction; offers guidance on steering kids towards the best books for their age; points to resources for finding quality books; and includes an extensive index for locating titles, authors, and themes quickly. Isaacs' experienced guidance will help adults encourage children who love to read ... to read even more
Fundamentals of Government Information
by Cassandra J. Hartnett; Andrea Sevetson; Eric J. Forte
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them. Unmatched in its scope, this book covers such key topics as the history of government information, from its colorful beginnings to the era of Wikileaks, Edward Snowden, and data breaches; how to think like a government documents librarian in order to find information efficiently, plus other research tips; all types of law resources and information, including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations; Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set; patents, trademarks, and intellectual property; census data, educational information, and other statistical resources; health information, with an in-depth look at the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the trend toward and impact of online medical records; and science, environmental, and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy. Exercises throughout the text support instruction, while the approachable and well-organized style make it ideal for day-to-day reference use.
Get Real with Storytime
by Julie Dietzel-Glair; Ph.D., Marianne Crandall Follis
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
This is a complete, year-long programming guide that shows librarians how to integrate nonfiction and poetry into storytime for preschool children in order to build literacy skills and overall knowledge. * Helps librarians meet children's interests in "real stuff" and reach more children--especially boys--in storytime * Provides new and effective ways to build early literacy skills using a unique blend of the "literary" and the "real" * Supports national and state standards that emphasize the use of more nonfiction and informational text * Enables librarians to make better use of their existing collections
Go Get That Grant!
by Gail M. Staines
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
This book is a practical, how-to guide for those interested in writing, procuring, and implementing grants. The second edition has also been expanded to include a new chapter on how to become a grant writer. From gathering basic information about an organization through accepting and implementing the grant award, expert advice is provided then illustrated through step-by-step guides along with numerous examples. This publication is designed to be used by those writing grants on behalf of libraries as well as nonprofit organizations. Information about types of grants available through government agencies and foundations as well as how to locate funding opportunities has all been updated in this second edition. The process of identifying a fundable project and how to carefully select potential sources of funding are explained. Proven writing strategies show how to make your grant application stand out from the rest. Making sure that program implementation is as smooth as possible is shared in order to eliminate any potential obstacles that may arise. Several appendices show samples of strategic plans, narratives, budgets, needs assessments, evaluations, and much more Examples are tailored to libraries and nonprofit organizations. The author has shared her 20+ years experience successfully procuring and implementing foundation and government grants. It is the most current and practical publication of its kind available today and will prove to be enormously useful in these tough economic times when decreased available funding opportunities are resulting in increase competitiveness. (n.b., This book is not intended for those seeking funding for science-based or social science-based projects that involve experiments and may involve human and/or animal subjects.)
Historical Fiction II
by Sarah L. Johnson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
Historical fiction has surged in popularity in recent years, with new subgenres emerging (e.g. Viking romance, religious thrillers) and reader interest showing no signs of slowing down. This follow-up to Johnson's critically acclaimed guide published in 2005 covers new territory by focusing on English-language historical novels for adults published between mid-2004 and mid-2008, in particular those commonly found in American public library collections. The author's unique approach involves classifying titles by subgenres, rather than strictly by geography and chronology; thereby grouping read-alikes together. It gives users a deeper understanding of the genre, an update on new titles, and an easy way to identify read-alikes and book club selections for library patrons. More than 2700 historical fiction titles, about 2,000 new to this volume, are organized and described.
Introduction to Metadata
by Murtha Baca
Publication Date: 2016-07-20
Metadata provides a means of indexing, accessing, preserving, and discovering digital resources. The volume of digital information available over electronic networks has created a pressing need for standards that ensure correct and proper use and interpretation of the data by its owners and users. Well-crafted metadata is needed more now than ever before and helps users to locate, retrieve, and manage information in this vast and complex universe. The third edition of Introduction to Metadata, first published in 1998, provides an overview of metadata, including its types, roles, and characteristics; a discussion of metadata as it relates to Web resources; and a description of methods, tools, standards, and protocols for publishing and disseminating digital collections. This revised edition is an indispensable resource in the field, addressing advances in standards such as Linked Open Data, changes in intellectual property law, and new computing technologies, and offering an expanded glossary of essential terms.
by Wyoma VanDuinkerken; Wendi Arant Kasper
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Quality leadership is integral to the very future of our profession. And it doesn't only come from the top down. Effective leadership is customer-focused and collaborative, fostering a service culture that invites the involvement of individuals in every part and at every level of the organization, as the authors persuasively demonstrate in this practical new book. Drawing from case studies as well as the literature of business and social sciences, the authors provide guidance on how to apply the values of service leadership to both public and academic libraries. Through the use of examples, exercises, and tools for development, this book walks readers through the steps needed to create a sustainable, service-oriented model.
The Librarian's Introduction to Programming Languages
by Beth Thomsett-Scott (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Libraries in the Information Age
by Denise K. Fourie; Nancy E. Loe
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
The book Library Media Connection cited as something "all librarians need to have on their shelves" is now thoroughly revised for today's 21st-century library environment. Covering both technology and library practices, the title has been a go-to text for librarians and library school students since 2002. * Thoroughly revises and updates a popular text for community college-level LIS or LTA programs that can also be used in MLIS graduate-level curricula and for four-year bachelor's degree programs in library studies and information studies * Provides a succinct introduction to the library industry and a practical overview of the field from seasoned practitioners * Brings together learnings from academic, public, special, and school libraries as well as archives and historical agencies, presenting material with both depth and breadth * Is applicable as an introduction for library funding agencies and public library trustees or boards
Library's Role in Supporting Financial Literacy for Patrons
by Carol Smallwood (Editor); Julie Todaro (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Library Roles in Achieving Financial Literacy among its Patrons is a collection of articles from 25 librarians in different parts of the U.S. and Canada, each contributing 3,000-4,000 words: concise chapters with sidebars, bullets, and headers; there is an introduction. Contributors were selected for the creative potential in their topics, those that can be used in various types of libraries and that demonstrate a command of financial literacy and are able to communicate what they know to aiding users solve their financial information problems. The collection has three sections. The first provides an overview of financial literacy: what it means generally, what needs exist among library patrons, and what approaches have been tried to date. The second section deals with resources that are available in libraries, or should be made available. These include collections, skill sets in librarians, program opportunities and others. The third section is a series of case studies that demonstrate successes and best practices. Includes a foreword by ALA President Julie Todaro.
Library Management for the Digital Age
by Julie Todaro
Publication Date: 2014-06-05
This revolutionary introduction to library management is the first conceived in and written for a digital age. Julie Todaro, one of America s leading management experts, posits a new paradigm for planning, administering, and assessing library services. She explains each facet of administering both old (physical) and new (virtual) libraries. Library Management for the Digital Age covers .hierarchies, .policies, .communication, .working relationships, .facilities, .human resources, .settings, .customer services, .budgeting, .emergency management, .appendixes including model positions descriptions, interview questions, evaluation forms, and other necessary management tools. Each chapter concludes with an illustration of the old-to-new paradigm shift in that particular aspect of management as well as concise case studies that illustrate the real-world nature of the shift and discussion questions to facilitate active learning. A platinum-quality editorial board comprised of both LIS faculty and expert library managers has reviewed this book in order to ensure authority."
by Steve Albrecht
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Library work is really all about people. And the inclusive, welcoming nature of the library means that all kinds of people pass through its doors. Not all difficult patrons are dangerous, but some frighten staff and other library users, which can lead to situations that are distracting, troubling, and fraught with liability. For more than a decade, Albrecht, a 15-year police veteran, has presented workshops for libraries on dealing with challenging patrons. His no-nonsense advice will empower library staff in their personal security and give them the tools to confidently communicate with their colleagues, patrons, and members of law enforcement regarding inappropriate behavior. In this book he addresses security issues important to all libraries, including Specific guidance for common situations, such as unruly teens, unwanted sexual advances, chronically homeless substance abusers, and more The elements of an effective Code of Conduct and how to enforce it Tips on how to manage internet usage to minimize potential problems How to align with patrons and use language that defuses the conflict Forming partnerships with service organizations, homeless shelters, mental health advocacy groups, and other community resources How to know when it's time to call the police, plus ideas for increasing law enforcement support Ways to make the library more secure through changes to facilities Through the methods outlined in this book, Albrecht demonstrates that effective communication not only makes library users feel more comfortable but also increases staff morale, ensuring the library is place where everyone feels welcome.
Library Service Design
by Joe Marquez; Annie Downey
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Service design is a holistic, co-creative, and user-centered approach to understanding user behavior for creating or refining services. Use this LITA Guide to help as a toolkit for implementing service design studies and projects at all types of libraries. It begins with directions for how to create a service design team and assembling a user working group for your library and move through the various phases in a service design journey. The authors outline the tools required to gain insights into user behavior and expectation and how to diagnose the difference between a symptom and a problem users face when interacting within the library environment. The guide features a series of examples that the service design team can use to learn how to work with library staff and patrons to find out what current user experience is like and how to refine services to better meet user expectations. Learn how to: .create service blueprints - to outline the service delivery model and understand pain points and places where services can be refined .create customer journey maps - to better understand the actual paths taken by users to fulfill a service. .find the right tool for the situation so you can make an informed decision on usage .create an ethnographic program of your own tailored to your library environment .understand how assessment and post-implementation is key to any project s success .create a service design plan that fits your library and patronage This book is a toolkit, not a step-by-step, paint-by-the-numbers book. It is geared towards libraries of all types and sizes and will provide tools that any library can use and ideas for developing a service design project that fits within the means of your library so that your project will be meaningful, useful, and sustainable. While several books have been written on how to implement service design, this book will be the first to explain how to practice service design in libraries."
Linked Data for Cultural Heritage
by Ed Jones; Michele Seikel
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
With its roots in computer science, linked data is unfamiliar territory for many library catalogers. But since the origins of MARC nearly 50 years ago, the value of machine-readable library records has only grown. Today linked data is essential for sharing library collections on the open web, especially the digital cultural heritage in the collections of libraries, archives, and museums. In this book, the Association of Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) gathers a stellar list of contributors to help readers understand linked data concepts by examining practice and projects based in familiar concepts like authority control. Topped by an insider's perspective on OCLC's experiments with Schema.org and the Library of Congress's BIBFRAME project, the book addresses such topics as: a simplified description of linked data, summing up its promises and challenges; controlled vocabularies for the web; broadening use of library-curated vocabularies; how the complexity of AV models reveals the limitations of retrospective conversion; BIBFRAME's triplestore data model; ways libraries are helping science researchers share their data, with descriptions of projects underway at major institutions; balancing the nuance within an element set with the sameness needed for sharing; and the influence of projects such as Europeana and Digital Public Library of America. This survey of the cultural heritage landscape will be a key resource for catalogers and those in the metadata community.
Make It Here
by Matthew Hamilton; Dara Hanke Schmidt
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
This is an ideal resource for joining the maker movement, no matter the size of your public library or resource level. * Explains why the maker movement and libraries are a perfect match * Includes makerspace ideas and programs for all ages, not just teens * Written by authors with personal experience creating maker programming in a short amount of time with a limited budget * Supplies ideas and anecdotes from makerspaces and innovators across the United States that will inspire staff at all levels
Managing Local Government Archives
by Slate Minchew; Kaye Lanning Minchew; John H. Slate
Publication Date: 2016-06-23
Here is a comprehensive, authoritative introduction to the elements of day-to-day operations of local government archives, with special emphasis on best practices and practical solutions and strategies for establishing and improving such things as storage, environmental control, staffing, and intellectual control. It includes a chapter on general consideration for preservation of electronic archival records. Local government records are the records that most directly touch the lives of U. S. residents: deeds and property records, marriage licenses, school transcripts, law suits, and more, yet these records are often the most neglected records in the country. This guide is designed to appeal both to trained archivists as well as to those without formal training but find they are dealing with the administration of an archives program in a municipality, county, parish, township or borough, or a quasi-governmental entity such as a water district or a regional transportation authority. Managing Local Government Archives describes and prescribes the essential elements and best practices of a local government archives program. It is intended to be both a text for classroom instruction and a self-help tool for both professional and paraprofessional archivists. It is also intended to be helpful to local governments considering the planning and implementation of a formal archives program. Coverage encompasses the various domains of archival enterprise as practiced in a local government setting: .acquisition, .appraisal, .arrangement and description, .preservation, .access, .relationship to the records management profession, and .other topics."
Mentoring A to Z
by Julie Todaro
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
Your library's future is as good as the talent you develop. Too many mentorship programs are cursory; without structure and expectations, they accomplish little beyond a procedural orientation. But a solid, sustainable mentorship program can be a game changer for libraries, with long-term results that include career development, organization-wide professionalism, and retention. Here, library leader Todaro offers an accessible guide to putting mentorship into practice, complete with scanning checklists and critical questions that will assist you in designing, planning, and implementing your own program. Bypassing abstract management theories in favor of succinct action items, this book includes Four case-method scenarios that will prepare you for making decisions in common mentoring situations A discussion of mentor, mentee, reverse-mentoring, and co-mentoring terminology, and how to choose the best language to shape the expectations of your program Tips on how to apply nine measurements you probably already use for evaluation, plus five new ones that will make your program even more effective Suggested content and events in a mentorship curriculum, with sample goals, job descriptions, and advice on program planning Ways to address objections to a mentorship program Administrators at all types of institutions will benefit from Todaro's sensible, to-the-point insights into creating and sustaining a mentorship program.
by Richard Gartner
Publication Date: 2016-08-20
This book offers a comprehensive guide to the world of metadata, from its origins in the ancient cities of the Middle East, to the Semantic Web of today. The author takes us on a journey through the centuries-old history of metadata up to the modern world of crowdsourcing and Google, showing how metadata works and what it is made of. The author explores how it has been used ideologically and how it can never be objective. He argues how central it is to human cultures and the way they develop. Metadata: Shaping Knowledge from Antiquity to the Semantic Web is for all readers with an interest in how we humans organize our knowledge and why this is important. It is suitable for those new to the subject as well as those know its basics. It also makes an excellent introduction for students of information science and librarianship.
by Jeffrey Pomerantz
Publication Date: 2015-11-06
When "metadata" became breaking news, appearing in stories about surveillance by the National Security Agency, many members of the public encountered this once-obscure term from information science for the first time. Should people be reassured that the NSA was "only" collecting metadata about phone calls -- information about the caller, the recipient, the time, the duration, the location -- and not recordings of the conversations themselves? Or does phone call metadata reveal more than it seems? In this book, Jeffrey Pomerantz offers an accessible and concise introduction to metadata. In the era of ubiquitous computing, metadata has become infrastructural, like the electrical grid or the highway system. We interact with it or generate it every day. It is not, Pomerantz tell us, just "data about data." It is a means by which the complexity of an object is represented in a simpler form. For example, the title, the author, and the cover art are metadata about a book. When metadata does its job well, it fades into the background; everyone (except perhaps the NSA) takes it for granted. Pomerantz explains what metadata is, and why it exists. He distinguishes among different types of metadata -- descriptive, administrative, structural, preservation, and use -- and examines different users and uses of each type. He discusses the technologies that make modern metadata possible, and he speculates about metadata's future. By the end of the book, readers will see metadata everywhere. Because, Pomerantz warns us, it's metadata's world, and we are just living in it.
Mother of All Booklists
by William Patrick Martin
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
The Mother of All Booklists: The 500 Most Recommended Nonfiction Reads for Ages 3 to 103 is written for parents, grandparents, and teachers unfamiliar with the bewildering array of award and recommended reading lists. This book is a long overdue composite of all the major booklists. It brings together over 100 of the most influential book awards and reading lists from leading magazines, newspapers, reference books, schools, libraries, parenting organizations, and professional groups from across the country. The Mother of All Booklists is to reading books what the website Rotten Tomatoes is to watching movies the ultimate, one-stop, synthesizing resource for finding out what is best. Mother is not the opinion of one book critic, but the aggregate opinion of an army of critics. Organized into five age group lists each with one hundred books preschoolers (ages 3-5), early readers (ages 5-9), middle readers (ages 9-13), young adults (ages 13-17), and adults (ages 18+) The Mother of All Booklists amalgamates the knowledge of the best English-language booklists in the United States, including a few from Canada and Great Britain. Each of the 500 books is annotated, describing the contents of the book and suggesting why the book is unique and important. Each includes a picture of the book cover."
The New Librarianship Field Guide
by R. David Lankes
Publication Date: 2016-05-13
This book offers a guide for librarians who see their profession as a chance to make a positive difference in their communities -- librarians who recognize that it is no longer enough to stand behind a desk waiting to serve. R. David Lankes, author of The Atlas of New Librarianship, reminds librarians of their mission: to improve society by facilitating knowledge creation in their communities. In this book, he provides tools, arguments, resources, and ideas for fulfilling this mission. Librarians will be prepared to become radical positive change agents in their communities, and other readers will learn to understand libraries in a new way. The librarians of Ferguson, Missouri, famously became positive change agents in August 2014 when they opened library doors when schools were closed because of civil unrest after the shooting of an unarmed teen by police. Working with other local organizations, they provided children and their parents a space for learning, lunch, and peace. But other libraries serve other communities -- students, faculty, scholars, law firms -- in other ways. All libraries are about community, writes Lankes; that is just librarianship. In concise chapters, Lankes addresses the mission of libraries and explains what constitutes a library. He offers practical advice for librarian training; provides teaching notes for each chapter; and answers "Frequently Argued Questions" about the new librarianship.
New Routes to Library Success
by Elisabeth Doucett
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Whether in person or electronically, users come to the public library from outside the library realm. And that's exactly where genuinely transformational ideas lie. In this book Doucett mines new territory by exploring how successful organizations "outside the stacks" conduct their business. By analyzing what several private-sector organizations and their leaders are doing outstandingly well, she quickly hones in on transformational concepts that are ready for application in public libraries, offering more than a hundred innovative ideas that can be put into practice to improve customer service and day-to-day library operations. Canvassing the worlds of advertising, online commerce, fundraising, retailing, and more, Doucett profiles such successful professionals as Margaret Atwell, Kickstarter Chris Wilson, L.L. Bean Brian Kevin and Ginny Wright, Down East Magazine Kate Chaney Chappell, Tom's of Maine Walter Briggs, Briggs Advertising An exciting survey of creativity in action, Doucett's book will encourage public library directors, managers, trustees, and staff to cross-pollinate their own expertise with innovative ideas from outside the stacks.
Part of Our Lives
by Wayne A. Wiegand
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Despite dire predictions in the late twentieth century that public libraries would not survive the turn of the millennium, their numbers have only increased. Two of three Americans frequent a public library at least once a year, and nearly that many are registered borrowers. Although library authorities have argued that the public library functions primarily as a civic institution necessary for maintaining democracy, generations of library patrons tell a different story. In Part of Our Lives, Wayne A. Wiegand delves into the heart of why Americans love their libraries. The book traces the history of the public library, featuring records and testimonies from as early as 1850. Rather than analyzing the words of library founders and managers, Wiegand listens to the voices of everyday patrons who cherished libraries. Drawing on newspaper articles, memoirs, and biographies, Part of Our Lives paints a clear and engaging picture of Americans who value libraries not only as civic institutions, but also as public places that promote and maintain community. Whether as a public space, a place for accessing information, or a home for reading material that helps patrons make sense of the world around them, the public library has a rich history of meaning for millions of Americans. From colonial times through the recent technological revolution, libraries have continuously adapted to better serve the needs of their communities. Wiegand demonstrates that, although cultural authorities (including some librarians) have often disparaged reading books considered not "serious," the commonplace reading materials users obtained from public libraries have had a transformative effect for many, including people such as Ronald Reagan, Bill Moyers, Edgwina Danticat, Philip Roth, Toni Morrison, Sonia Sotomayor, and Oprah Winfrey. A bold challenge to conventional thinking about the American public library, Part of Our Lives is an insightful look into one of America's most beloved cultural institutions.
Public Library Buildings
by Lisa Charbonnet
Publication Date: 2015-10-05
This go-to guide covers the entire process of building or renovating a public library—from initial planning, to maintaining the completed space, to measuring success. * Provides you with an informal, easy-to-read, practical guide that addresses the specific needs of public librarians looking to reimagine their library space * Takes a holistic approach that covers every step from initial vision to evaluating success * Offers practical, nuts-and-bolts advice from an experienced veteran of the process * Helps you to claim a seat at the table—and shows you why the input of librarians is so important
The Purpose-Based Library
by John J. Huber; Steven V. Potter
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
In the years since John Huber's trailblazing "Lean Library Management" was published, budget pressures on libraries have only increased. Yet libraries who have adopted his strategies have turned conventional management thinking-that if budgets are reduced, customer service suffers-on its head. These libraries have proven that by streamlining and improving customer services, they can eliminate wasteful activities and bring down costs. In The Purpose-Based Library, Huber and seasoned public library administrator Potter build on insight gleaned from decades of experience to demonstrate how libraries can create real growth opportunities through concentrating on their true mission and purpose, and without spending a lot more money. With a focus on putting ideas into action, they point the way towards New ways to think about metrics Reexamining customer self-driven services Effectively leveraging the considerable footprint of libraries Identifying and assessing community needs and realigning library services accordingly Actively encouraging community fundraising Offering cutting-edge services and programs Packed with boots-on-the-ground commentary, this book presents strategies to help libraries survive and succeed.
Rethinking Technical Services
by Bradford Lee Eden
Publication Date: 2015-11-13
Volume 6 of the series Creating the 21st-Century Academic Library is focused on academic library technical services operations, and ways that they have been transformed and reimagined for working in today’s higher education environment. The literature on the place and role of technical services, technical services librarians, technical services staff, and technical services operations has expanded and grown in the last few years as decreased budgets, a focus on essential public services, and information discovery on the Internet has driven the profession to re-examine the need or importance of this back-end (or hidden) library department. Topics discussed in this book include frameworks for the networked environment, roles for metadata librarians in the areas of research data and digital initiatives, the renewed focus on the discovery of information and its place in academic libraries, the new “normal” in academic library technical services operations, emerging roles and opportunities for technical services managers, the re-training and re-skilling of technical services staff, hidden collections and needed or unexplored areas of expertise with technical services librarians and staff, the faceted application of subject headings (FAST) and obsolete or outdated subject terminology within Library of Congress Subject Headings, and a conversation about downsizing and moving forward within a law library technical services unit.
Small Libraries, Big Impact
by Yunfei Du
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
This valuable book shows how to get your community behind your library by making it an essential part of community life and demonstrating its benefit to all members of the community. * Helps smaller public libraries re-establish their relevance and value to their communities * Broadens possibilities for library service that will demonstrate how your library is an essential part of all community life and positively impacts all members of your community * Presents effective tools for collaboration, community outreach, and partnership * Offers an inclusive approach to library service that embraces diverse populations
STEM by Design
by Anne Jolly
Publication Date: 2016-07-07
How do you create effective STEM classrooms that energize students, help them grow into creative thinkers and collaborators, and prepare them for their futures? This practical book from expert Anne Jolly has all the answers and tools you need to get started or enhance your current program. Based on the author's popular MiddleWeb blog of the same name, STEM by Designreveals the secrets to successful lessons in which students use science, math, and technology to solve real-world engineering design problems. You'll learn how to: Select and adapt quality existing STEM lessons that present authentic problems, allow for creative approaches, and engage students in meaningful teamwork; Create your own student-centered STEM lessons based on the Engineering Design Process; Assess students' understanding of basic STEM concepts, their problem-solving abilities, and their level of engagement with the material; Teach STEM in after-school programs to further build on concepts covered in class; Empower girls to aspire to careers in STEM and break down the barriers of gender bias; Tap into STEM's project-based learning style to attract and engage all students. Throughout this user-friendly book, you'll find design tools such as checklists, activities, and assessments to aid you in developing or adapting STEM lessons. These tools, as well as additional teacher resources, are also available as free downloads from the book's website, http://www.stem-by-design.com.
Story Time Success
by Katie Fitzgerald
Publication Date: 2016-07-22
Story time is a popular activity in public libraries. Unfortunately, many librarians (and not just children s librarians) are thrust into the role of providing this service have not taken a course or had the necessary experience of performing story times. Story times are so popular that they are now offered to children of many ages, not just to preschoolers. This book will help librarians who have never done story time to learn to promote, plan, and perform story times, and will be useful to experienced librarians to build on their story time repertoires. Because story times are essential components of library service to children and in such demand, in many libraries, even librarians who have never done story time before are being asked to step into that role. Story Time Success: A Practical Guide for Librarians is comprehensive handbook which can help any librarian learn to promote, plan, and perform story times even with no prior training or experience. Key elements include: Customizable planning templates Hints for choosing appropriate books and other materials Suggestions for overcoming performance anxiety Troubleshooting for common story time problems and pitfalls Evaluation rubrics for performers and supervisors Veterans and beginners alike will find many useful pointers for establishing and improving their story time skills and repertoires."
by Jane McGonigal
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growth In 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for "post-traumatic growth" that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier. But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade's worth of scientific research into the ways all games--including videogames, sports, and puzzles--change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more "gameful" mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games--such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination--to real-world goals. Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build: * Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings * Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships * Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job. As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You'll never say that something is "just a game" again.
Tapping into the Skills of Twenty-First Century School Librarians
by Audrey P. Church
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
Strong school librarians positively impact student learning, and principal support is key. This concise handbook provides an overview of the roles of the 21st-century school librarian teacher, instructional partner, information specialist, instructional leader, and program administrator. A valuable and informative resource, it gives principals the information they need to know in order to utilize the library program and librarian to the fullest potential to contribute to the instructional program of the school."
Teaching Google Scholar
by Paige Alfonzo
Publication Date: 2016-07-25
Teaching Google Scholar in your library instructional sessions can increase students information and digital literacy skills. Students familiarity with Google Scholar s interface works to the instructor s advantage and allows more time to address students information needs and teach foundational information literacy skills and less time teaching a new database with a less-intuitive database interface. Teaching Google Scholar: A Practical Guide for Librarians will illustrate instructional methods and incorporate step-by-step guides and examples for teaching Google Scholar. It begins with providing you with essential background: What Google Scholar is How to set up Google Scholar using OpenURL How to design Google Scholar instructional sessions How to incorporate active learning activities using Google Scholar After reading it, you will be ready to teach students critical skills including how to: Use specific Google Scholar search operators Incorporate search logic Extract citation data, generate citations, and save citations to Google's My Library and/or a citation management program Use Google Scholar tools- including cited by, alerts, library links, and library search Google Scholar is a powerful research tool and will only become more popular in the coming years. Learning how to properly teach students how to utilize this search engine in their research will greatly benefit them in their college career and help promote life-long learning. Google Scholar instruction is a must in today s modern information literacy classroom."
Teen Services Today
by Sara K. Joiner; Geri Swanzy
Publication Date: 2016-08-04
Two authors with more than 20 years of combined experience share their practical experience serving teens in public libraries. Teen Services Today highlights best practices, including resources and references, to quickly implement programs and services to young adults. Although teen services covers ages 12 to 18, a world of developmental changes and interest levels exist within those six short years. Teens offer a range of opportunities for public libraries, not simply as patrons, but also as advocates and volunteers. Special features of the book include: .Basic information on the fundamental services and programs for teens .Reasons for providing services to teens .Examples of successful teen programs, complete with lists of needed supplies and potential costs, that can generally be performed by one or two staff members .Checklists and forms Teen Services Today: A Practical Guide for Librarians gives all library staff the tools they need to work with teens. Whether you are the teen librarian, the clerk who s been assigned to do something about teens or the branch manager who sees an underserved population, this book will provide you with the building blocks to create successful relationships with the teens who use your library."
by Amanda S. Hovious
Publication Date: 2015-11-10
This practical and thorough guide offers clear explanations of what transmedia storytelling is and shows how it can be integrated into library programming that fosters multimodal literacy with K–12 learners. * Offers the first practical guide to transmedia storytelling that gives librarians new ways to create excitement in the library, engage learners, and foster multiple literacies * Provides complete, step-by-step guidelines for transmedia-rich library programs * Introduces new areas of research and best practices in technology integration wholly applicable to libraries * Covers topics such as new literacies, participatory storytelling, learning through gamification, maker programs, using digital badges to motivate young learners, and more
The Weeding Handbook
by Rebecca Vnuk
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
"No We can't rid of that " Vnuk, author of the popular "Weeding Tips" column on Booklist Online, is here to show you that yes, you can. A library is an ever-changing organism; when done the right way, weeding helps a library thrive by focusing its resources on those parts of the collection that are the most useful to its users. Her handbook takes the guesswork out of this delicate but necessary process, giving public and school library staff the knowledge and the confidence to effectively weed any collection, of any size. Going through the proverbial stacks shelf by shelf, Vnuk Explains why weeding is important for a healthy library, demonstrating that a vibrant collection leads to robust circulation, which in turn affects library budgets Walks readers through a library's shelves by Dewey area, with recommended weeding criteria and call-outs in each area for the different considerations of large collections and smaller collections Features a chapter addressing reference, media, magazines and newspapers, e-books, and other special materials Shows how a solid collection development plan uses weeding as an ongoing process, making it less stressful and more productive Offers guidance for determining how to delegate responsibility for weeding, plus pointers for getting experienced staff on board Gives advice for educating the community about the process, how to head off PR disasters, and what to do with weeded materials Includes a dozen sample collection development plans, easily adaptable to suit a library's individual needs Filled with field-tested, no nonsense strategies, this handbook will enable libraries to bloom by maintaining a collection that users actually use.
What Every Library Director Should Know
by Susan Carol Curzon
Publication Date: 2014-04-10
In this unconventional management text, author Dr. Susan Carol Curzon presents a different take on traditional library management tools. Through personal narrative and anecdotes from other working professionals, Curzon presents the many everyday challenges one meets as a library manager: The unwritten rules, strategies, and bits of wisdom only learned on-the-job Behavioral nuances Political strategies Mentor-like advice Subtle communication codes Regardless of the professional setting, management is management and wisdom is wisdom. What Every Library Director Should Know is the insider s view of vital actions, behaviors, and strategies needed to succeed in every type of library."
Worlds of Making
by Laura Fleming
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Makerspaces: Your questions answered here! Get the nuts and bolts on imagining, planning, creating, and managing a cutting-edge Makerspace for your school community. Nationally recognized expert Laura Fleming provides all the answers in this breakthrough guide. From inception through implementation, you'll find invaluable guidance for creating a vibrant Makerspace on any budget. Practical strategies and anecdotal examples help you: Create an action plan for your own personalized Makerspace Align activities to standards Showcase student creations Use this must-have guide to painlessly build a robust, unique learning environment that puts learning back in the hands of your students!
A Year of Programs for Millennials and More
by Amy J. Alessio; Katie LaMantia; Emily Vinci
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Needless to say, programming for teens can be a dubious fit for library users in their 20s; and what appeals to Baby Boomers isn't necessarily ideal for those in their 30s and 40s. Millennials deserve their own programs. This handy guide specifically targets those on the cusp of the born-digital generation and their peers, offering up a year's worth of programming suitable for both public and academic libraries. Organized by monthly clubs or monthly themed events, a format that makes planning and execution a snap, this resource Provides an overview of what those in their 20s, 30, and 40s want from libraries and how best to reach them Gives tips for extending popular teen programs to older teens and those in their 20s Presents start-to-finish programs sure to be a big draw, such as a "pub trivia" night, recipe scrapbooking meetup, retro craft club, old school gaming sessions, writer's workshops, and community college networking events Shows how to program on a tight budget by making the most of the library's existing collection and resources Offers tips on marketing, outreach, and followup The fun and popular programs contained in this guide will help libraries become social and cultural cornerstones for the millennials in their communities.