Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NMSL Gov Docs Policies: State Government Documents

-

Processing State Government Documents


The practices described below will apply to incoming new state documents as well as older state documents. 

Occasionally the Government Documents Librarian will bring items to TSB from the state shelves to be cataloged in Polaris. The request for cataloging these items is due to their recent use or donation. These items should be returned with the same expediency as any new state documents. Cataloging these items is not in-lieu of TSB’s shelf-list project but it will ultimately contribute to the project’s completion.

*In the case of older, fragile, or rare items it will be at the Government Document Librarian’s discretion to indicate the application of labels, barcodes, and stickers. This will be indicated on the workslip.


When 30 print copies are provided by an agency:

  • 3 copies for NMSL collection
  • 1 copy for Archives
  • 1 copy for LC
  • 25 copies out to Depository Libraries in New Mexico

When 5 print copies and 1 digital copy are provided by an agency:

  • 3 copies for NMSL collection
  • 1 copy for Archives
  • 1 copy for LC
  • None physically distributed to Depository Libraries
  • Digital item will be loaded to DigiDrive by PSB – State Publications Coordinator
  • Digital item will be loaded to ContentDM by TSB

When only a digital item is provided by the agency:

  • Digital item will be loaded to DigiDrive by PSB – State Publications Coordinator
  • Digital item will be loaded to ContentDM by TSB

*Both print and digital items will be included in the Shiplist created and sent by TSB.

(PSB will temporarily send digital documents via FTP to SRCA until a State Docs Tech has been hired.)

Processing of NMSL Copies:

Copy 1

  • One of the three state documents received will be marked as “Copy 1” and will be kept in locked case stacks. These items will not circulate.
  • Barcodes should be attached to each item and linked to the corresponding item record unless noted otherwise by document librarian.
  • “Library Use Only” Sticker should be applied
  • Call number labels should be placed on the upper left hand corner of the item. Occasionally, you will have to cut the call number label to size, in order for it to be placed strategically without covering information pertinent to the document.

Copy 2 & 3

  • The remaining two copies received will be marked “Copy 2” and “Copy 3” respectively. These copies will circulate and will be kept in the circulating shelves.
  • Barcodes should be attached to each item and linked to the corresponding item record unless noted otherwise by document librarian.
  • Call number labels should be placed on the upper left hand corner of the item. Occasionally, you will have to cut the call number label to size, in order for it to be placed strategically without covering information pertinent to the document.

***If we do not receive enough copies of any given document to supply the NMSL with three copies then we will make “Copy 1” as first priority. If we have an additional copy we can make a “Copy 2”.

General Notice of Information

Background Information


Publications which are printed for distribution to the public, necessitates that state agencies send 30 copies of those printed publications or if a digital version is also available send five print copies and one PDF version to the New Mexico State Library (NMSL). Three copies of each publication are kept locally for historical, research and circulation purposes. One copy is sent to the State Records Center and Archives (SRCA), one copy is sent to the Library of Congress, and all other print copies are sent to the State Publications Depository Libraries (25) around the state. Any digital version is archived in our digital archive and sent to the SRCA.

Publications which are intended only for digital distribution, either on the web or by email distribution, necessitates that agencies send one digital copy to NMSL. These digital items are archived and made accessible through our digital archive. These digital items are also sent the SRCA for their long-term preservation.

Digital Archive

Criteria for inclusion in NMSL Digital Archive


1) Document conforms to the definition of state "publication" in NMAC 1.25.10.7

2) Item is available digitally (born digital or digitized)

3) Document is in a formation the NMSL Digital Archive can accomodate