Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogical Resources: Print Resources

Of Particluar Interest to New Mexico

How-to Resources

The New Mexico State Library has a number of books for those new to genealogy research. Here are some examples. Check the catalog for a more complete list. 

Extractions

The New Mexico State library has a collection of extractions from New Mexico early church records. Check the catalog for complete records or to find the title of interest. This collection continues to grow, so check back if we don't currently have what you need. The New Mexico State Archives also has a complimentary collection of extractions. Examples include:

  • Albuquerque baptisms : Archdiocese of Santa Fe, 1706-1850
  • New Mexico baptisms, Church of Santo Tomas de Abiquiu
  • New Mexico baptisms of Santa Fe : Parroquia de San Francisco de Asis (Parish of Saint Francis of Assisi)
  • New Mexico marriages and baptisms, San Augustin de la Isleta Church : marriages 1726 to 1846, baptisms 1730 to 1776, 1829 to 1842
  • New Mexico roots LTD : a demographic perspective from genealogical, historical and geographic data found in the Diligencias Matrimoniales or Pre-nuptial investigations (1678-1869) of the Archives of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe ; multiple data extracted and here edited in a uniform presentation by years and family surnames

Journals & Newsletters

Here are a few examples of current and past journals and newsletters at the New Mexico State Library. Check the catalog for complete records or to find the title of interest.

Herencia: The Quarterly Journal of the Hispanic Genealogical Research Center of New Mexico Volume 6, number 1 (January 1998) - current.

Colorado Hispanic Genealogist: The Journal of the Colorado Society of Hispanic Genealogy Vol.1, no. 1 (Mar. 2004) - currebnt.

New Mexico Genealogist: The Journal of the New Mexico Genealogical Society Vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 1962) - current

Nuestras Raices Journal: Genealogical Society of Hispanic America Vol. 1 (Jan. 1989) - current

Noticias (Newsletter of the Hispanic Genealogical Research Center of New Mexico) 1996 - current

Spanish-American Genealogist 1977-1982, 1986

Noticias de Nuestras Raices : Genealogical Society of Hispanic America Newsletter April 2011 - current

Published Family Histories

There are a number of published family histories available at the State Library. Check the catalog for complete records or to find the title of interest. Examples include:

Madrid, Crespin, and Sanchez Family History by Virginia Sanchez and Sandra Sanchez

The Sernas of New Mexico: A Family History by Louis F. Serna

The Quintana's by Ida R. Foraci (22 volumes)

Some Descendants of Domingo Montes Vigil: Siero, Spain to "La Culebra" 1611-1965, 1695-1999 by Maria C. Martinez

Some Descendants of Francisco Montes Vigil II: Siero, Spain to "La Culebra" by Maria C. Martinez

Some Descendants of Juan Montes Vigil 1689-2000 by Maria C. Martinez

Town & County Histories

There are a number of published county histories available at the State Library. Check the catalog for complete records or to find the title of interest. Examples include:

Pioneer Families of Grant County, New Mexico: A History of the Hooker-Shelley Families and the 916 Ranch by La Verne McCauley & Terrell T. Shelley

New Mexico Local and County Histories : A Bibliography compiled by Christine Buder Myers

Out in God's Country: A History of Colfax County, New Mexico by  Larry Murphy

Eddy County, New Mexico: To 1981 by Southeastern New Mexico Historical Society

Curry County, New Mexico: A Collection of Historical Material Featuring Family Histories and Including Histories of Schools, Churches, Communities, Businesses and Organizations by Don McAlavy, co-editor, Harold Kilmer, co-editor

Sedan (Union County) New Mexico by Regina Joyce Christerson Smith

Phone Books & City Directories

The New Mexico State Library has the following city, county, and business directories.  Please be aware that the date range noted may not include the directory for each year in the range. They are all listed in our online catalog and are available for on site use only.

New Mexico Business Directories, 1915-1950

City Directories

Alamogordo                                        1994-current

Albuquerque                                       1947-current

Artesia/Eddy County                           1974-current

Carlsbad/Eddy County                        1964-current

Clovis –Portales                                  1964, 1998-current

El Paso, Texas                                     1978-1990

Farmington/San Juan County              1964-current

Gallup/McKinley County                     1964, 1976-current

Grants/Valencia County                      1976-1981

Greater Las Cruces                             1940-current

Hobbs/Lea County                               1952-current

Portales/Roosevelt County                 1976-1979

Roswell/Chaves County                      1966-current

Santa Fe                                              1940, 1944-current (paper); 1928-1935 (microfilm)

Tucumcari/Quay County                     1979, 1988, 1991

Telephone Directories

Alamorgordo/Carrizozo/Cloudcroft/Tularosa             1960-2011

Alamosa                                                                     1990-2005

Albuquerque                                                              1950-2012

Anthony/Canutillo/La Mesa                                        1961-1991

Aztec/Farmington                                                       1955-1968*

Artesia                                                                        1955-2011

Belen/ Los Lunas                                                       1961-2010

Carlsbad                                                                    1961-2008

Clovis/Portales                                                           1956-2011

Deming/Lordsburg/Silver City                                    1955-1985+

Espanola                                                                    1964-2007

Estancia/Fort Sumner/Santa Rosa                            1960-1983

Farmington/Aztec                                                       *1969-2011

Gallup/Grants                                                             1954-2011

Hobbs                                                                        1960-2005

Las Cruces                                                                1955-2011

Las Vegas/Raton                                                       1954-2008

Los Alamos                                                                1961-1965

Lovington                                                                   1962-2004

Magdelena/Socorro                                                   1955-1968^

Pecos/Glorieta/Terrero                                              1962-2004

Roswell                                                                      1954-2011

Ruidoso                                                                     1961-2005

Santa Fe                                                                    1926, 1955-2013

Socorro                                                                      ^1969-2011

Silver City                                                                  +1987-2010

Taos/Penasco                                                           1955-2010

Tatum/Malaheur                                                        1968-1990

Truth or Consequences                                             1961-2004

Tucumcari                                                                  1954-2010

Zuni/Ramah                                                               1975-2005

Window Rock, AZ                                                      1972-2000

Misc.

Southwest Collection Vertical Files consists of clippings and ephemera.  The Biography files contains material that is often retrospective and multi-generational.