Census Data: Finding Census Data at NMSL and Online

Tangible Census Information at NMSL

Decennial data collected by the U.S. Census varies from census to census, but population, age, sex, race, income, poverty, earnings, occupation, education, housing, disability, birthplace, ancestry, families, household characteristics and language are among the topics covered in decennial census reports.

Statistical reports issued by the U.S. Census Bureau from 1790 to the present are available for use at the New Mexico State Library. This includes the Decennial Census of Population, Economic Census, and Census of Agriculture. Statistics for the United States, New Mexico, all other states, cities, counties and smaller census geographies are available.

The New Mexico State Library participates as a co-ordinating agency in New Mexico's  State Data Center Program.

Maps

The State Library has a collection of full sized New Mexico county block and tract maps for the 2000, 1990, 1980, and 1970 decennial census.  LandView products are also available on CD-Rom.  Block maps for the 1980 decennial census are also available on microfiche.

Interactive Census Maps

Infographics & Visualizations

Geography Reference Maps

Genealogical Research

Historical Federal decennial census schedules for genealogical research are located in the Southwest collection.  Census data is also searchable on the Ancestry Library database which is available in the Library.

Questions about using data.census.gov, the Census Bureau web site, the New Mexico State Library Census Collection and the State Data Center program can be directed to the reference staff (505) 476-9702.

General Statistics and Census Information

• State and County Quick Facts a statistical profile and map of your city, county and state
• data.Census.gov with advance search you can build a query for New Mexico Data (can select decennial survey)
• Decennial Census Data -- find datasets, tools, and tables for each decennial census
• Explore Census Data find statistical data for any location in the United States
• US Census Bureau is the gateway to a world of statistics
• The Economic Census profiles the US economy every 5 years from the national to the local level.

New Mexico Specific Resources

• Bureau of Business and Economic Research (BBER) New Mexico's leading resource for demographic and socioeconomic data
• RGIS is a repository for New Mexico digital, geospatial data acquired from local and national public agencies
• New Mexico's 2000 Census Tables - Decennial, American Community Survey
• New Mexico's 2010 Census Tables - Decennial, American Community Survey

Historical Census Information

• Find Decennial Datasets, find Decennial Census information going back to 1790.
• IPUMS USA -- IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
• Historical Census Data The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.