Located at the New Mexico State Records Center and Archives. For help with this collection, contact the New Mexico State Records and Archives at archives@state.nm.us
The collection consists of the research files of Lucien A. File. Included are research documents, index cards, maps, black and white photographs, and an unfinished manuscript pertaining to mining in New Mexico. A timetable of the history of New Mexico mining is contained within the manuscript. Subjects included are ghost towns, inhabited towns, counties, forts, mining history and locations, and New Mexican history. Also included are clippings pertaining to nearly 300 prominent New Mexicans. Related photographs of various places in New Mexico are inter-filed with the collection.
Located at the The University of New Mexico, University Libraries, Center for Southwest Research For help with this collection, contact the UNM Center for Southwest Research at cswrref@unm.edu
The collection consists of records for the New Mexico Endowment for the Humanities, detailing the business of the organization founded as the New Mexico Humanities Council in 1972. Also documented is its relationship to the National Endowment for the Humanities and similar institutions throughout the United States. The collection is arranged chronologically with most projects overlapping for a limited number of years.
The collection is divided into chronological series by year, 1972-1992. Within each year are subseries for Organization and Administrative Materials, Projects, Scholars Papers, and Speakers/Programs where relevant. Organizational records include financial records, internal and external correspondence, memoranda, board information, meeting information and minutes, announcements, conferences, reports, photographs, slides and press clippings. Project files include grant applications, project titles, file numbers, program location, topics, project accounting, required reports, and evaluations. Scholars and speakers programs promoted by the organization include Chautauqua performances, essay contests, specialized speakers, programs and performances.
Albuquerque, Newcomers, "There's Always Room at the Top," 1445-827, Helena Washington, March 1992.
A planning grant given for a Chautauqua presentation to cover the Boyer's move to New Mexico Territory in the early 1900's:
they had formed an independent black community named Blackdom. BOX 65, FOLDER 23
Located at New Mexico State University Library, Archives and Special Collections For help with this collection, contact the NMSU Archives and Special Collections
The Katherine D. Stoes papers is arranged into seven series: Personal, Correspondence, Legal Documents, Literary Works, Printed Material, Maps, and Photographs. The personal series contains genealogical records of Katherine’s ancestral lines. The correspondence series contains both personal and business letters to and from Katherine and Henry Stoes. The legal documents series contains items such as marriage and divorce licenses, and deeds. The literary work series contains a manuscript subseries and a research notes subseries. The manuscript subseries contains manuscripts written by Katherine and others. The research notes subseries complied by Katherine which is comprised of information pertaining to people, places and things of New Mexico and the surrounding areas. The printed material series contains newspapers, magazines and Shalam Colony newsletters, calendars etc. The maps series contains one copy of a map of Fort Selden from 1886. The photographs series contains a prints subseries and negatives subseries. Both subseries comprise images of people, places and things of New Mexico and the surrounding areas.
Located at the Historical Society for Southeast New Mexico. For help with this collection, contact the archives directly.
Blackdom, New Mexico post office cash book, c. 1913
Faced with segregation and discrimination in the east, many African Americans chose to establish their own towns in the west. Some, like Blackdom, grew large enough to support post offices that offered money orders and postal savings accounts, functioning as de facto banks. Cash books from these post offices contain the community’s economic history. Includes a brief interview with the curator,
Lynn Heidelbaugh.