Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Mexico Poets: Poets Laureate

"My cousin was a folk musician who introduced me to Bob Dylan and Woody Guthrie. I started composing my own rhymes and my own songs. I was coming from a background where the word poetry wasn't even spoken - that genre wasn't even taught. I was coming at it more from a songwriter's perspective, but it had all the elements of trying to make a statement through what I was writing because of that influence of the folk music and the songwriters of that time." Levi Romero, inaugural New Mexico Poet Laureate, from a Taos News interview, 2020

New Mexico Poets Laureate

The New Mexico Poet Laureate is a 3-year position with the goals of supporting literacy and enhancing education while promoting arts enrichment across the state. Through speaking engagements statewide and programs at schools and libraries, the poet will engage all New Mexicans with poetry. They will also document their travels via web journal and podcast.

Levi Romero, inaugural Poet Laureate, 2020 - 2023

  • Querencia: Reflections on the New Mexico Homeland, edited by Vanessa Fonseca-Chávez, Levi Romero and Spencer R. Herrera
  • A Poetry of Remembrance: New and Rejected Works (available at the New Mexico State Library)
  • In the Gathering of Silence (available at the New Mexico State Library)
  • Sagrado: A Photopoetics Across the Chicano Homeland, written with Spencer R. Herrera (available at the New Mexico State Library)

Taos Poets Laureate

The purpose of the Poet Laureate is to build awareness and appreciation of poetry in the wider community, to undertake projects that will make poetry more accessible to people in their everyday lives and to celebrate poetry and the power of the written word while honoring the cultural diversity of our community.

Catherine Strisik, 2020 - 2022

  • Insectum Gravitis
  • The Mistress
  • Thousand-Cricket Song
  • Aikaterína (a manuscript-in-progress)

Sawnie Morris, inaugural Poet Laureate, 2018-2019

Navajo Nation Poets Laureate

Laura Tohe 2015

  • Tseyí Deep in the Rock

Luci Tapahonso, inaugural Poet Laureate, 2013

Albuquerque Poets Laureate

The Albuquerque Poet Laureate Program (APLP) celebrates poetry by recognizing a resident poet who makes meaningful connections, honors and serves our diverse community, elevates the importance of the art form, and shares poetry with Albuquerque residents.

Mary Oishi, 2020 - 2022

  • Spirit Birds They Told Me
  • Rock Paper Scissors

Michelle Otero, 2018 - 2020

Manuel Gonzalez, 2016 -2018

Jessica Helen Lopez, 2014 - 2016

 Hakim Bellamy, inaugural Poet Laureate, 2012-2014

Santa Fe Poets Laureate

Established in 2005, the Poet Laureate is an honorary position that is both ceremonial and educational, with the goal of promoting the presence of poetry in the city. 

Darryl Wellington, 2021-2023

  • Life's Prisoners

What the Hell is Poetry: A Missive from Santa Fe's New Poet Laureate, Sept. 8, 2021, Santa Fe Reporter

Elizabeth Jacobson, 2019 - 2021

  • Not into the Blossoms and Not into the Air
  • Her Knees Pulled In
  • A Brown Stone
  • Are the Children Make Believe?

Jon Davis, 2012 - 2014

Joan Logghe, 2010 - 2012

Valerie Martinez, 2008 - 2010

Arthur Sze, inaugural Poet Laureate, 2006 - 2008

Silver City/Grants Poets Laureate

The Poet Laureate Program of the Silver City/Grant County area, established in 2011 by the Steering Committee of the Southwest Festival of the Written Word, and endorsed by the Mayor and Town Council of the Town of Silver City, strives to promote a meaningful poetic presence as part of the diverse cultural fabric of our town and region.

Eve West Bessier 2019 - 2021

Beate Sigriddaughter and Jack Crocker, 2017 - 2019

Elise Stuart, 2014 - 2017

Bonnie Buckley Maldonado 2012 - 2014, Inaugural Poet Laureate



Las Vegas Poets Laureate

Kayt Peck, inaugural poet laureate 2021