LibGuides: Free Cataloging Resources: RDA

RDA 33x Fields

RDA Content Type (MARC Field 336)
This list contains Resource Description and Access (RDA) terms and corresponding three-character lower case alphabetic codes for RDA Content types.
RDA Media Type (MARC Field 337)
This list contains Resource Description and Access (RDA) terms and corresponding one-character lower case alphabetic codes for RDA Media types.
RDA Carrier Type (MARC Field 338)
This list contains Resource Description and Access (RDA) terms and corresponding two-character lower case alphabetic codes for RDA Carrier types.

RDA Elements to MARC Cheat Sheet
A quick reference guide that maps RDA entities to commonly used bibliographic MARC fields
Wrangling Your Metadata with the New RDA Toolkit
Slides from 2022 NMLA pre-conference workshop on the RDA Toolkit, presented by the Technical Services Bureau at NMSL.

RDA for Copy Catalogers: The Basics
An ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services) webinar that focuses on applying RDA guidelines in the creation of bibliographic description.
RDA for the Non-Cataloger - What's in it for You?
An ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services) webinar that provides a general overview of RDA.
Preparing for the New RDA: RDA Toolkit Restructure and Redesign Project (3R Project)
The PCC Standing Committee on Training (SCT) is creating training materials to assist the community in preparing for the New RDA that is the result of the RDA Toolkit Restructure and Redesign Project (3R Project).
RDA: Resource Description & Access Training Materials
Training materials on RDA from the Library of Congress. Last updated January 9, 2018.
Phase 1: PCC Introductory RDA Training Webinars
Links to Library of Congress webinars for those interested in learning official RDA as the community prepares to transition over the next couple of years. The training materials will remain available for self-study and review, as well as for those who would like to use them to present them in other venues (e.g., in-person). Last updated May 22, 2024.

Request a free 30-day trial of the RDA Toolkit
RDA Toolkit is an integrated, browser-based, online product that allows users to interact with a collection of cataloging-related documents and resources including RDA: Resource Description and Access. RDA Toolkit is published by the RDA Copyright Holders. RDA: Resource Description and Access is a package of data elements, guidelines, and instructions for creating library and cultural heritage resource metadata that are well-formed according to international models for user-focused linked data applications.