Free Cataloging Resources: Learning

Have you found yourself responsible for cataloging with no previous experience? Is "cataloger" only one of many hats you wear at your library? Attend this session to learn about free tools to innovate your cataloging process, make your life easier, and get your library's materials cataloged and in the hands of your patrons. Presented by the Nebraska Library Commission.

When it comes to cataloging and classification, consistency obtained through standards is important. That does not mean you have to be at the mercy of the national standards. This presentation will cover many ways in which you can adapt catalog records to make sure they work for your library users – from homegrown classification systems to local subject headings – and offer tips to make sure these practices still provide the consistency needed in a good catalog. Presented by the Nebraska Library Commission.

OCLC has developed an online set of training materials for the DDC focused on the needs of experienced librarians who need Dewey application training. The materials include modules on general principles governing the operation of the DDC as well as modules on the structure and use of specific tables and main classes.

This technical introduction explains DDC's use of structural and notational hierarchy, different types of notes in the DDC, explains the relationship of different terminologies to the DDC, shows how to apply basic rules to choose correctly between multiple potential base numbers, and how to apply basic number building techniques.

In this YouTube video from OCLC, learn about the fundamental principles of the DDC as well as practical strategies for efficient navigation and searching of WebDewey.

An ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services) webinar that focuses on applying RDA guidelines in the creation of bibliographic description.

An ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical Services) webinar that provides a general overview of RDA.

The PCC Standing Committee on Training (SCT) is creating training materials to assist the community in preparing for the New RDA that is the result of the RDA Toolkit Restructure and Redesign Project (3R Project).

Training materials on RDA from the Library of Congress. Last updated January 9, 2018.

Links to Library of Congress webinars for those interested in learning official RDA as the community prepares to transition over the next couple of years. The training materials will remain available for self-study and review, as well as for those who would like to use them to present them in other venues (e.g., in-person). Last updated May 22, 2024.

The Catalogers Learning Workshop (CLW) website provides cataloging and metadata training resources at no cost for information professionals to download, translate to other languages, and modify to meet their needs.

This course, aimed at library staff new to cataloging, provides an introduction to the purpose, importance and varieties catalogs. It also provides the learner with a basic orientation to standard cataloging activities. NOTE: WebJunction is free to use, but you will need to register and create an account.

Explains what a MARC record is, and provides the basic information needed to understand and evaluate a MARC record.

Explains what a MARC record is, and provides the basic information needed to understand and evaluate a MARC authority record.

This online training on Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) is freely available as a service to the library community. The modules are no longer being updated but the fundamental principles of LCSH in the training are unchanged.