Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Southwest Natural History Resources: Journals from Our Collection

 

 

This is just a small representation of the natural history collection available from the New Mexico State Library.

Don't see what you want? Please visit our catalog for our full collection. If you can't find what you are looking for, we are happy to help you.

Journals

High Country News is the nation's leading source of reporting on the Western United States.Through in-depth reporting, High Country News covers the West’s social, political and ecological issues. From Alaska and the Northern Rockies to the desert Southwest, the Great Plains to the West Coast, High Country News covers 12 Western states and hundreds of Indigenous communities. We are an essential magazine for people who care about this region. High Country News’ commitment to environmental and social responsibility gives an added resonance to our unique Western voice. We strive to inspire, engage and challenge readers to bridge cultural divides, expand their own perspectives and consider new ideas. We want our readers to know the  West. 

The New Mexico State Library collection includes 1998 - present.

 

 

Native Plant Society of New Mexico newsletter. The Native Plant Society of New Mexico (NPSNM) is a non-profit organization that strives to educate the public about native plants by promoting knowledge of plant identification, ecology, and uses; fostering plant conservation and the preservation of natural habitats; supporting botanical research; and encouraging the appropriate use of native plants to conserve water, land, and wildlife. 

The New Mexico State Library Collection includes 1998 - present.

 

 

 

The Southwestern Naturalist. The Southwestern Naturalist, founded in 1953, publishes natural history research, particularly on the study of the biota found in the region that includes the southwestern United States, Mexico, and Central America.

The New Mexico State Library Collection includes 2001-2017.

 

 

 

Archaeology Southwest is a private 501 (c) 3 nonprofit organization headquartered in Tucson, Arizona. In our workplace and activities, we are striving for inclusion across race, gender, age, religion, and identity.

For three decades, Archaeology Southwest has practiced a holistic, conservation-based approach to exploring the places of the past. We call this Preservation Archaeology. By exploring what makes a place special, sharing this knowledge in innovative ways, and enacting flexible site protection strategies, we foster meaningful connections to the past and respectfully safeguard its irreplaceable resources. Archaeology Southwest Magazine, continues to serve as the flagship publication. Issued four times a year, it provides timely, synthetic treatments of some of the most current topics and issues in Southwestern archaeology