LibGuides: Native American Boarding Schools: Boarding School Records

Microfilm Collections at the New Mexico State Library

National Archives Microfilm Collections at New Mexico State Library

Bureau of Indian Affairs records created by the Santa Fe Indian School 1890-1918. 38 reels of microfilm (Record Group 75.20.36) Available at the New Mexico State Library (microfilm #M1473)

Bureau of Indian Affairs records created by the Santa Fe Indian School 1890-1918 (M1473) Descriptive Guide
On the 38 rolls of this microfilm publication, M1473, are reproduced the 68 volumes of bound records and 6.5 cubic feet of unbound records created by the Santa Fe Indian School between 1890-1918. These records are in the holdings of the National Archives-Rocky Mountain Region in Denver, Colorado, and are part of the Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75.

Superintendents' Annual Narrative and Statistical Reports from Field Jurisdictions of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1907-1938. The New Mexico State Library holds 25 reels from this collection (Record Group 75.14.8, microfilm #M1011)

Superintendents' Annual Narrative and Statistical Reports from Field Jurisdications of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, 1907-1938
On the 174 rolls of this microfilm publication are reproduced the annual narrative reports, 1910-38, and the annual statistical reports, 1920-35, submitted to the Bureau of Indian Affairs (officially the Office of Indian Affairs before 1947). These
reports were prepared by superintendents of the Bureau's field jurisdictions and maintained by the Bureau in segregated files. Also included are annual narrative and statistical reports that were filed in the Bureau's central classified files during the
period 1907-9.

Miscellaneous Letters Sent by the Pueblo Indian Agency, 1874-1891 10 reels of microfilm are held at the New Mexico State Library (Record Group 75.19.83, microfilm #M941)

Miscellaneous Letters Sent by the Pueblo Indian Agency, 1874-1891
On the 10 rolls of this microfilm publication are reproduced 19 volumes containing press copies of miscellaneous letters sent
by the Pueblo Indian Agency, 1874-91.

Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880 The New Mexico State Library holds 37 reels from this collection (Record Group 75.4, microfilm # M234)

Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880
On the 962 rolls of this microfilm publication is reproduced the greater part of the correspondence received by the central office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs during the years 1824 through l880. The correspondence not included consists of letters and documents organized by the Bureau into various special series, which are discussed in more detail below.

Reports of Inspections of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 The New Mexico State Library holds 9 reels from this microfilm collection (Record Groups: 48.5.4, 75.15, 75.19, microfilm #M1070)

Reports of Inspections of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900
On the 60 rolls of this microfilm publication are reproduced inspection reports from the records of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-80, and the Indian Division of the Office of the Secretary of the Interior, 1880-1900. These reports were prepared by inspectors for the Indian Service and submitted to the Secretary of the Interior. The reports for the period 1873-80 were maintained by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (known as the Office of Indian Affairs before 1947) in a segregated collection. Those
reports covering the period 1881-1900, but not in the segregated collection, generally were filed with letters received in the Indian Division, Office of the Secretary of the Interior.

Records of the New Mexico Superintendency, 1849-1880. The New Mexico State Library holds 30 reels of microfilm from this collection (Record Group 75.15.9, microfilm #T21)

Records of the New Mexico Superintendency of Indian Affairs, 1849-80
By the time the Office of Indian Affairs was established in 1824, the system of superintendencies and agencies was well
organized, Superintendents had general responsibility for Indian affairs in a geographical area, usually a Territory, but
sometimes a larger area. Their duties included the supervision
of intertribal relationships in their jurisdiction and between the tribes and citizens of the United States or other persons, and the supervision of the conduct and accounts of agents responsible to them. Agents were immediately responsible for the affairs of one or more tribes. They attempted to preserve or restore peace and often tried to induce Indians to cede their lands and to move to areas less threatened by white encroachment. They also distributed money and goods and carried out other provisions of treaties with the Indians. Gradually, as the Indians were confined on reservations, the agents became more concerned with educating and "civilizing" them. The records maintained by field offices relate to almost all aspects of Indian administration in the field. Records of a superintendency include those of the agencies over which it had jurisdiction. Sometimes records of reservation schools and other field units are included with the agency records. The
kinds of records maintained did not vary much from jurisdiction to jurisdiction, although there are great differences in the
quantities that have survived. Most of the correspondence of superintendents and independent agents was conducted with
the central office of the bureau, but considerable correspondence was exchanged between superintendents and agents within the superintendency. Also found is correspondence with other field officials and employees, Army officers, businessmen, and Indians.

Bureau of Indian Affairs Schools in New Mexico

New Mexico

Links to National Archives collections

1886-1964	Albuquerque Indian School (National Archives at Denver)
1926-1949	Charles H. Burke Indian School/Wingate Vocational High School (National Archives at Denver)
1935-1959	McCarty Indian Day School under the Albuquerque Area Office (National Archives at Denver)
1944-1957	Mesita Indian Day School under the Albuquerque Area Office (National Archives at Denver)
1950-1958	Nenahnezad Boarding School under the Northern Navajo Agency (National Archives at Denver)
1924-1958	Paguate Indian Day School under the Albuquerque Area Office (National Archives at Denver)
1911-1914	Pueblo Day Schools at Albuquerque (National Archives at Denver)
1911-1912	Pueblo Day Schools at Santa Fe (National Archives at Denver)
1954-1966	San Juan Boarding School (National Archives at Denver)
1890-1951	Santa Fe Indian School (National Archives at Denver)
1944-1952	Shiprock Boarding School under the Northern Navajo Agency (National Archives at Denver)
1971-1981	Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute(National Archives at Denver)
1941-1952	Toadlena Day School under the Navajo Agency (National Archives at Denver)
1906-1911	Zuni Boarding School (National Archives at Denver)

Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions Records

Marquette Univerisity

BUREAU OF CATHOLIC INDIAN MISSIONS RECORDS (Black and Indian Mission Office) [1833-ongoing]

The Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions is the largest of three record groups within the Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions Records and the oldest of three affiliated agencies in the Black and Indian Mission Office (Washington, D.C.). Through advocacy and fundraising, the BCIM has supported Catholic evangelization and schools for Native Americans in the United States and dependent territories, 1874-present. Its holdings contain correspondence, reports, photography, publications, audio and video recordings, government documents, and websites, which it created and/or collected.

The Bureau of Catholic Indian Missions was created in 1874 as the Office of the Commissioner for Catholic Indian Missions to protect, promote, and administer the Native American mission interests of the Catholic Church in the United States. In so doing, it promoted fund raising and advocacy for Catholic Native American missions and also contributed to advocacy for Native American social and cultural issues in general.