New in Library and Information Science

"While the infrastructures in which preservation programs exist are rapidly changing, one thing remains constant-because archivists are stewards of cultural heritage, their role is to ensure that todays records will be accessible in the future. Advancing Preservation for Archives and Manuscripts aims to advance archivists knowledge and understanding of what it means to preserve our heritage. Divided into three parts, the book covers preservation frameworks, the nuts and bolts of implementing and managing a preservation program, and the ethical and moral implications of preservation practices. Holding both the history of archival preservation and the current digital preservation landscape in mind, Michèle V. Cloonan and Elizabeth Joffrion have developed holistic principles and context for archival preservation that incorporates analog and digital approaches. They consider how "More Product, Less Process" can inform preservation strategies, examine sustainable practices that are sensitive to the impact of human activity on the environment, offer effective programmatic approaches to risk management, advocate for inclusive and community-focused preservation, and highlight the similarities and differences in preservation practices among libraries, archives, and museums. Whether youre new to the profession or experienced in preservation management, readers will find a valuable framework for thinking about how preservation is practiced today and how it may be carried out in the future to better steward their collections and serve their "While the infrastructures in which preservation programs exist are rapidly changing, one thing remains constant-because archivists are stewards of cultural heritage, their role is to ensure that todays records will be accessible in the future. Advancing Preservation for Archives and Manuscripts aims to advance archivists knowledge and understanding of what it means to preserve our heritage. Divided into three parts, the book covers preservation frameworks, the nuts and bolts of implementing and managing a preservation program, and the ethical and moral implications of preservation practices. Holding both the history of archival preservation and the current digital preservation landscape in mind, Michèle V. Cloonan and Elizabeth Joffrion have developed holistic principles and context for archival preservation that incorporates analog and digital approaches. They consider how "More Product, Less Process" can inform preservation strategies, examine sustainable practices that are sensitive to the impact of human activity on the environment, offer effective programmatic approaches to risk management, advocate for inclusive and community-focused preservation, and highlight the similarities and differences in preservation practices among libraries, archives, and museums. Whether youre new to the profession or experienced in preservation management, readers will find a valuable framework for thinking about how preservation is practiced today and how it may be carried out in the future to better steward their collections and serve their communities"--

"Advocacy and awareness are essential activities that underpin the work of the archives profession, helping archivists communicate the value and relevance of our work to administrators and the general public. In Advocacy and Awareness for Archivists, Kathleen D. Roe draws on her extensive experience to walk new and experienced archivists through basic principles and practices of advocating for and creating awareness of archives. From building archival advocacy programs to lobbying local and national legislators, Roe encourages archivists to think beyond the "elevator speech" to identify clear paths for relevant engagement. Writing exercises guide archivists in thinking through their advocacy goals and identifying when and to whom their efforts should be targeted. An overview of previous advocacy and awareness efforts demonstrates both productive approaches and cautionary tales that may inform future endeavors. A must-have resource for every archivist, Advocacy and Awareness for Archivists will help you adopt an "advocacy frame of mind" and encourage you to do the work that will bring the change you seek."--backcover

"Your guide to succeeding as a solo archivist. A significant portion of U.S. institutions charged with the preservation of cultural heritage are small repositories and one-person shops. Rapid advances in technology, increasing regulation on institutional records, and exponential growth in the volume and variety of cultural resources being collected put added pressure on solo archivists to find efficient and effective ways to manage their archives. Alone in the Stacks: Succeeding as a Solo Archivists offers practical guidance on handling common work demands while promoting archival best practices. Author and former solo archivist Christina Zamon addresses a comprehensive range of topics, including administration, fundraising and donor relations, information technology, collections management, records management, preservation, reference and outreach, facility management, disaster preparedness, and internship and volunteer programs. In addition, case studies by practitioners from diverse backgrounds, institutional settings, and geographic locations discuss the challenges they faced when they found themselves responsible for the full spectrum of archival work with limited or no paid staff to assist. Seasoned archivists and newcomers to the profession will benefit from the practical tips, sound advice, and resources shared throughout the volume, as well as the opportunity to connect to the broader community of professional archivists. If youre a solo archivist, rest assured youll find yourself less alone with this book in hand!"--Page 4 of cover.

"An archival accessioning program is the keystone of responsible collection stewardship and essential to providing both equitable access and meaningful contextualization of archives. In Archival Accessioning, editor Audra Eagle Yun approaches the acquisition of materials as a holistically oriented, programmatic activity that establishes and maintains baseline control for archival holdings. Combining principles, best practice, and real-world examples from eleven archives practitioners, Archival Accessioning is a forward-thinking guide that archivists can apply in a variety of institutional settings. Those working with archives, special collections, and local history materials will learn how to Identify core components of archival accessioning and critically analyze this work, Establish a thoughtful and successful program for taking intellectual and physical custody of materials, and Adapt firsthand professional perspectives to improve or modify existing practices. This books set of principles, applied procedures, and variety of examples will benefit archivists, records managers, librarians and information science students at all levels. Get ready to take control of all your archival holdings!"--

Archival Fundamentals Series III

Providing examples of successful approaches to unsettling Western archival paradigms from Canada, the United States, New Zealand, and Australia, this book showcases vital community archival work that will illuminate decolonial archival practices for archivists, curators, heritage practitioners, and others responsible for the stewardship of materials by and about Indigenous communities.

"Leadership development requires intentionality and strategy. Leadership skills are best learned by observing and following the examples of leaders--and they are best taught through mentoring. In Leading and Managing Archives and Manuscripts Programs, the editors share their personal experiences, gleaned from a combined five decades of archival leadership, regarding key functions of leaders and managers: communication, strategies, resources and budgets, leadership in transformative change and crisis, building relationships within and beyond the archives, and leadership development. In the second half of the book, five archival leaders further highlight essential aspects of leadership through their accounts of the challenges of directing programs in various institutional settings and what has proven effective. In addition, the former director of the Archival Leadership Institute describes how that program catapulted leadership development throughout the profession."--

Three case studies provide practical strategies for revising access restrictions to legally and ethically protected records at public institutions. Using examples from grand jury records, law enforcement files, and human subject research, this module highlights how radical empathy and the archivist's social justice imperative can be balanced alongside community input and legal demands.

"Access and reference services are central to engaging with historical resources. As more people encounter archives for scholarly and avocational research, as part of creative pursuits, or to exercise their rights as citizens to access records, the possibilities for how collections are used will continue to evolve. Archivists need to be familiar with who their users are, understand why theyre using archival collections, and engage in outreach so that they can provide excellent reference services."--Back cover.