Advocating Digital Citizenship by Carrie Rogers-Whitehead; Amy O. Milstead; Lindi Farris-Hill
Publication Date: 2022-08-26
In this down-to-earth guide, educators will learn successful strategies for embedding digital citizenship into their library and school instruction. Digital citizenship, the ethical and responsible use of technology, is more important than ever for 21st-century learners and families-all of whom are spending increasingly long hours behind screens. Because libraries and schools are often the mediators between technology and individuals, educators must know what digital citizenship is and how they can understand, program, and promote it. In Advocating Digital Citizenship, readers will learn from a public librarian and two current school librarians a wealth of real-life, easy-to-follow strategies to make libraries healthy, equitable, and safe digital spaces for everyone. Covering complex but important topics like digital law, digital etiquette, and media literacy, the authors help librarians and teachers establish a curriculum, write programming, and collaborate with colleagues to achieve buy-in at all levels. Educators will benefit from a chapter dedicated to lesson plans, and a practical appendix includes digital citizenship program outlines, policy and procedure documents, and conversation prompts around technology to share with families. In our current climate, which requires so many new digital experiences for people of all ages, digital citizenship instruction is timely and essential.
Combating Online Health Misinformation by Alla Keselman (Editor); Catherine Arnott Smith (Editor); Amanda J. Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-09-10
Danger of health misinformation online, long a concern of medical and public health professionals, has come to the forefront of societal concerns during the COVID-19 pandemic. Regardless of their motives, creators and sharers of misinformation promote non-evidence-based health advice and treatment recommendations, and often deny health methods, measures, and approaches that are supported by the best evidence of the time. Unfortunately, many infrastructural, social, and cognitive factors make individuals vulnerable to misinformation. This book aims to assist information and health professionals and educators with all phases of information provision and support, from understanding users' information needs, to building relationships, to helping users verify and evaluate sources. The book can be used as a textbook in library and information science programs, as well as nursing, communication, journalism, psychology, and informatics programs. The book, written from the e-health literacy perspective, is unique in its nuanced approach to misinformation. It draws on psychology and information science to explain human susceptibility to misinformation and discusses ways to engage with the public deeply and meaningfully, fostering trust and raising health and information literacy. It is organized into three parts. Part I: The Ecology of Online Health Information' overviews the digital health information universe, showing that misinformation is prevalent, dangerous, and difficult to define. Part II: Susceptibility to Misinformation: Literacies as Safeguards addresses factors and competencies that affect individual vulnerability and resilience. Part III: Solutions focuses on education and community engagement initiatives that help the public locate and evaluate health information. Chapters within the three Parts discuss technological innovation and social media as posing novel risks as well as presenting novel solutions to helping the public connect with high quality information and building trusting relationships among the public and information and health professionals.
Complete Copyright for K12 Librarians and Educators by Carrie Russell
Publication Date: 2023-05-18
Particularly in places of learning, technology is all-pervasive; because everyone is always making copies, copyright is center stage. And copyright law, when misapplied or misinterpreted, affects not only the way that you teach but even what you teach. With decades of experience interpreting the intricacies of copyright law as it pertains to librarianship, Russell is the ideal authority to address the concerns of librarians, teachers, and teaching librarians who work in the K-12 environment. Her book will encourage you to stop allowing your fear of copyright issues to limit how and what you share or teach, and instead be more involved in shaping copyright law to better serve your learning community. Through scenario-based discussions, it covers key topics such as the reasons librarians and teachers have so many misconceptions about copyright, and why understanding copyright is a process, not a one-time event; recent legislative and policy developments that impact schools and libraries; situations often encountered by educators, such as using copyrighted material in class assignments, digital lesson plans, bulletin board displays, social media, school plays, and band performances and talent shows; the use of licensed content in a variety of settings; what constitutes "fair use," so that you can be empowered by knowing exactly what's possible within the law; and guidance on making long-term strategic decisions and developing copyright policies.
Copyright by Donna L. Ferullo; Dwayne K. Buttler
Publication Date: 2023-09-05
Finally: a plain-language guide to best practices for the complex world of copyright management in academic libraries. Copyright issues continue to perplex librarians and educators. The difficulties and confusion in applying the U.S. Copyright Act became especially apparent when Covid hit and many universities turned to remote learning as their primary method of instruction. Librarians and educators struggled with applying the law for both remote learners and students who were on site. This book provides advice on how to analyze and apply the copyright law to specific areas encountered by librarians and instructors. Coverage includes: Controlled digital lending is a very hot issue and confusing to many as to how copyright could apply in those situations remote learning do's and don'ts' is at the forefront of copyright concerns which was highlighted during the pandemic The application of copyright to music in light of recent changes to the U.S. Copyright Act has caused much confusion. Analysis of the new law and strategies on how to include music in a curriculum as well as how libraries can provide access and preservation of musical works. Open access initiatives have become increasingly popular. However, open access does not mean that there is no copyright attached to the works. The use of data is exploding as are the copyright issues associated with it. We will examine the issues and provide options. Written by Donna L. Ferullo, the Director of the University Copyright Office at Purdue University who holds both law and library science degrees and Dwayne K. Buttler, the Evelyn J. Schneider Endowed Chair for Scholarly Communication at the University of Louisville, who also holds a law degree. Both Ferullo and Buttler have many years of experience advising their universities on copyright law.
How Public Libraries Build Sustainable Communities in the 21st Century by Kaurri C. Williams-Cockfield (Editor); Bharat Mehra (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023-09-08
Public libraries, through their mission, vision, and position in the community, play a significant part in building community sustainability and are already positioned to serve as a "backbone support organization" for collective impact initiatives. However, their efforts are often unrecognized by local governments and other social justice organizations. How Public Libraries Build Sustainable Communities in the 21st Century, through research, case studies, and personal narratives representing both national and international perspectives, examines the capacity of public libraries to impact social change at the community level. The overarching goal is to change the narrative with community stakeholders by presenting illustrative examples of how public libraries are driving community change and how these efforts align with the UN SDGs.
The Library: A Fragile History by Andrew Pettegree; Arthur der Weduwen
Publication Date: 2021-11-09
Perfect for book lovers, this is a fascinating exploration of the history of libraries and the people who built them, from the ancient world to the digital age. Famed across the known world, and jealously guarded by private collectors, built up over centuries, destroyed in a single day, ornamented with gold leaf and frescoes, or filled with bean bags and children's drawings--the history of the library is rich, varied, and stuffed full of incident. In The Library, historians Andrew Pettegree and Arthur der Weduwen introduce us to the antiquarians and philanthropists who shaped the world's great collections, trace the rise and fall of literary tastes, and reveal the high crimes and misdemeanors committed in pursuit of rare manuscripts. In doing so, they reveal that while collections themselves are fragile, often falling into ruin within a few decades, the idea of the library has been remarkably resilient as each generation makes--and remakes--the institution anew. Beautifully written and deeply researched, The Library is essential reading for booklovers, collectors, and anyone who has ever gotten blissfully lost in the stacks.
Manga in Libraries by Jillian Rudes
Publication Date: 2023-02-17
Manga, which encompasses comics originating from Japan, is treasured by readers of all ages. And because of its emotional storytelling, breathtaking artwork, and relatable and transformative stories about humanity, manga is especially popular with teens. Whether you provide reference services and readers' advisory, handle programming, or teach in the classroom, this book from manga expert Rudes will show you how to connect young readers to manga for entertainment, empowerment, and literacy. You will learn a brief history of Japanese visual storytelling, the birth and rise of manga, and an overview of its astonishing variety of genres and audiences; helpful information about key manga publishers' age rating systems and content warnings; collection development questions to consider along with suggested titles and authors for building a core collection; advice on countering book challenges and censorship through effective policies and advocacy; why diverse and inclusive representation in manga matters, illustrated through interviews with library workers and experts from the field, complete with guidance on appropriate manga titles for LGBTQAI+ teens, BIPOC readers, and other diverse populations; how to use manga to foster teens' social-emotional learning (SEL), with suggested manga that connect with SEL and sample discussion questions; ways to engage teens through manga book clubs, anime watch parties, teen-led workshops, and other programming; examples of lesson plans and activities for teaching with manga in libraries and classrooms; and links to webinars, book lists, and additional resources for getting up to speed and staying current with manga.
Media Literacy for Justice by Belinha S. De Abreu
Publication Date: 2022-02-07
Foreword by Yohuru Williams, Racial Justice Initiative, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. St. Thomas University, Minneapolis; Preface by Asha Rangappa, former FBI agent and Senior Lecturer, Yale University's Jackson Institute for Global Affairs Providing context, reflection points, and ready-to-use lesson plans, this powerful book illuminates the intersections of social justice and media literacy for educators, school and public librarians, teachers of history and civics, information literacy instructors, and community leaders. The corrosive effects of today's relentless tide of media are pernicious. We are conditioned in many ways by our media environments to accept and not question, making it crucial that young people master the skills necessary to access, analyze, evaluate, and create media. De Abreu and her fellow contributors propose that a key solution to our society's crisis of misinformation, misrepresentation, and misunderstanding lies in melding social justice aims with media literacy concepts and skills. Featuring reflective activities and lesson ideas that can be adapted for educational settings from higher education to the K-12 spectrum, community centers, and libraries, this resource spotlights the work of school library media specialists, classroom teachers, academic educators, and representatives of non-profits from around the world; presents ten chapters which explore such timely issues as how to deal with controversial topics in the classroom, the effects of misinformation/disinformation on civics in society, why the media underrepresents certain people in their programming, the digital divide and where libraries fit in, how injustice exacerbates public health issues, and global conceptions of social justice and media literacy examined through various world events; and provides information about additional resources like social action/advocacy organizations, classroom resources, and films that will assist readers as they reflect upon, teach, and discuss media literacy and social justice.
The Necessity of Young Adult Fiction by Deborah Lindsay Williams
Publication Date: 2023-03-09
Discusses how young adult fiction offers new ways of thinking about climate change and definitions of citizenship. The Necessity of Young Adult Fiction argues that YA fiction helps us to think about some of most pressing problems of the twenty-first century by offering imaginative reconceptualizations about identity, nation, family, and the human relationship to the planet. Using examples from YA fiction that range from the Harry Potter series to Nnedi Okorafor's trilogy set in contemporary Nigeria, this book argues that the cultural work of YA fiction shapes readers perceptions, making them receptive to--and invested in--the possibility of positive social change. The novels examined could all be considered "fantastical," but they offer insights into the real world that all readers--and particularly young adult readers--might draw on in order to reimagine social structures and the well-being of the planet. The book is designed to bring readers into the conversation about how we might create cosmopolitan societies that are shaped around conversation and engagement rather than fear and isolation. Each of these novels, in different ways, illustrate the dangers inherent in fundamentalist visions of the world. Through its discussions about the relationships between reading and citizenship, monsters and families, the local and the global, The Necessity of Young Adult Fiction demonstrates that YA fiction is doing some of the most important and creative work in literature today.
The Newbery Practitioner's Guide by Laura Schulte-Cooper (Editor); Association for Association for Library Service to Children (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-08-08
This book digs in and explores where the distinguished award intersects with library work in a range of areas such as collection policy, advocacy, programming, EDI efforts, and censorship. Recognized experts in the fields of library service to youth, children's literature, and education present strategies, guidance, and tips to support practitioners in making the most of the Newbery in their work. Inside, you'll find tips on using booklists, displays, mock elections, and "Bookstagramming" to promote the Newbery Award and the award winners; perspective on the Newbery Medal at 100, examining where it fits in the history of children's literature and where children's book publishing stands today in terms of racially diverse literature; guidance to help you objectively and confidently deal with issues such as weeding award books and addressing controversies involving Newbery winners and honor books; strategies for leveraging the renown of the Newbery Award to advocate the value of libraries and library workers serving youth; and time-saving programming and book group resources, including ready-made activities and discussion questions for dozens of Newbery titles.
Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science by Bharat Mehar (Editor)
Call Number: 021.20973 M4985 2022 c.1
Publication Date: 2022
Social Justice Design and Implementation in Library and Information Science presents a range of case studies that have successfully implemented social justice as a designed strategy to generate community-wide changes and social impact.
Each chapter in the collection presents innovative practices that are strategized as intentional, deliberate, systematic, outcome-based, and impact-driven. They demonstrate effective examples of social justice design and implementation in LIS to generate meaningful outcomes across local, regional, national, and international settings. Including reflections on challenges and opportunities in academic, public, school, and special libraries, museums, archives, and other information-related settings, the contributions present forward-looking strategies that transcend historical and outdated notions of neutral stance and passive bystanders. Showcasing the intersections of LIS concepts and interdisciplinary theories with traditional and non-traditional methods of research and practice, the volume demonstrates how to further the social justice principles of fairness, justice, equity/equality, and empowerment of all people, including those on the margins of society.
On Censorship by James LaRue
Publication Date: 2023-09-19
"An insightful and humorous look into the complex issues of censorship, Jamie LaRue's book is at times intellectually and emotionally challenging--like all of the best books should be." --R. Alan Brooks, Comics Creator and Professor, Professor of Graphic Narrative, Regis University In America today, more books are being banned than ever before. This censorship is part of a larger assault on such American institutions as schools, public libraries, and universities. In On Censorship: A Public Librarian Examines Cancel Culture in the US, respected long-time public librarian James LaRue issues a balanced and reasonable call to action for all citizens. LaRue, who served as director of the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom and executive director of the Freedom to Read Foundation, highlights the dangers of book banning and censorship in our public and educational spaces. Synthesizing his more than twenty-five years of experience on the front lines of these issues, he takes the reader through attempts he encountered to remove or restrict access to ideas, while placing the debate in the greater context about the role of libraries and free expression in a democratic society. LaRue covers topics such as: The role of the library in American culture and community The consequences of cancel culture Seven things citizens can do to quell book banning and censorship attempts By examining past efforts at censorship and their dangerous impacts, LaRue asks the reader to reflect on how those times are not so different from today. This book is essential reading for all those who believe in free expression, who support libraries, and who cherish the central freedoms that American democracy represents.
Library Programming & Services
Beyond Books by Jenn Carson
Publication Date: 2022-10-28
This book will enable librarians to prepare effective programs that already have proven results, decreasing stress, prep time, and the feeling of being overwhelmed that can result from trying to come up with new ideas on a deadline.
Learning Centers for School Libraries by Maura Madigan
Publication Date: 2021-03-10
This book offers Step-by-step directions for both the educator and learner and all necessary handouts, including directions and worksheets. The reader can use the book to quickly and easily set up centers. Some centers require only photocopies and basic materials to get started. Guidance on how to create cross-curricular centers that target the AASL Standards and other content-area standards. A table is provided to enable educators to create centers that address specific standards or content areas. Centers for distance learning are also identified. Suggested modifications for both struggling and advanced learners, plus ideas for collaborating with other educators. These features broaden the potential audience beyond elementary school learners.
The Librarian's Guide to Bibliotherapy by Judit H. Ward; Nicholas A. Allred
Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Bibliotherapy can be defined as the use of guided reading for therapeutic ends. And though you might not be a licensed mental health professional, you can--and do, even without knowing it--support mental health and personal growth by connecting patrons to books that heal. Regardless of your previous experience or existing skills, this guide will empower you to make "shelf help" a part of your library's relationship with its community. Drawing on Reading for Recovery, the authors' own Carnegie-Whitney grant-funded project, this guide begins with an overview of bibliotherapy, including its concepts and history, and sketches out how its various approaches can be adapted for library settings; explores the potential of bibliotherapy as an add-on to existing skills, services, practices, and collections; demonstrates how bibliotherapy-inspired initiatives can address the needs of diverse communities, thus advancing libraries' commitment to EDISJ; offers techniques for selecting reading material for your audience with bibliotherapy in mind; provides a range of possible programs, from group discussions and public events to book displays and reading lists, along with a step-by-step approach to planning and implementing them; shares outreach tips, tools, and branding ideas to make the most of your resources and effectively reach your audience; demonstrates how to use assessment tools to test and tweak your program at every stage to achieve the results you want; and inspires you to take your offerings into new directions, such as creative writing and visual art programs, that fit your library and community.
Libraries That Build Business by Megan Janicki (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-04-28
Libraries have a distinctive role to play in the small business ecosystem and can effectively partner to complement existing business services in the community. A nationwide initiative that launched in 2020, Libraries Build Business (LBB) aims to build capacity in libraries offering programming or services to local entrepreneurs and the small business community, prioritizing low-income and underrepresented entrepreneurs. And libraries have already begun to transform communities, with programs ranging from one-on-one business consultations, classes, and workshops to networking and equipment lending, as the many initiatives spotlighted in this book demonstrate. Serving as powerful models of how libraries and their staff can advance innovation and economic growth on any budget and scale, these examples will inspire you to plug into your own community while guiding you through the nuts-and-bolts of making it happen. You'll learn the value to libraries of getting involved in entrepreneurship development; how libraries are integrating equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) into their efforts, working to create more inclusive business communities and, in turn, cultivate a vision for justice in communities across the country; vivid case studies of more than two dozen programs representing a cross-section of urban, suburban, and rural libraries, such as Entrepreneurship Academy, a training program; a 6-month business incubator targeting the formerly incarcerated; empowering street vendors, a consulting service with local business experts; and a makerspace for business; best practices related to budgeting, partnerships, staff, outreach, evaluation, sustainability, and other core components; and information about additional resources to support your work.
Library Management, Grants, & Workplace Issues
Crash Course in Library Supervision by Shelley Elizabeth Mosley; Dennis C. Tucker
Publication Date: 2007-11-30
Taking a management position in a new library or being promoted to a higher position in your library means a new approach to interpersonal relations. How to make this transition can be a challenge. This book provides the information you need to learn so you can become an effective leader and to recognize and circumvent the legal pitfalls that you may find in your path. Written in reader-friendly language, two seasoned veterans share their experiences and the experiences of others in this introduction to managing people. Managing a small library requires skills in working with personnel, the library board, patrons, and the key people in the community. Understanding these requirements will help the person with no formal education to be a more effective administrator in this setting.
Economic Considerations for LIbraries, Archives, and Museums by Lorraine A. Stuart (Editor); Thomas F.R. Clareson (Editor); and Joyce Ray (Editor)
Call Number: 025.11 S931 2022 c.1
Publication Date: 2022
Economic Considerations for Libraries, Archives and Museums provides insight into the economics of collaboration across Libraries, Archives, and Museums (LAMs) and cultural heritage funding.
Drawing together a series of global reflections on the past, present and future of cross-sector approaches to preserving and promoting cultural heritage, this volume examines the economic prospects of LAMs from a variety of facets. Divided into five sections, the book covers the five most important areas in the development and sustainability of collaborative LAM projects: the digital environment; collaborative models; education; funding issues; and alternate sources of funding. Responding directly to the issue of a lack of adequate funding for maintaining and providing access to cultural heritage resources globally, the book argues that cultural heritage institutions must seek creative methods for funding and collaboration at all levels to achieve shared goals.
Leading for School Librarians by Hilda K. Weisburg
Publication Date: 2023-08-18
Deemed "essential" by Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA), "a great read" by School Library Journal, and "comprehensive" by Reference & User Services Quarterly, the first edition of Weisburg's guide won plaudits for its inspirational yet pragmatic approach. At a time when school librarians are facing challenges as never before, from straitened budgets and censorship battles to uncertainty about the future and burnout, the updated second edition is timelier than ever. Weisburg builds on her decades of experience and mentorship in school libraries to offer a carefully crafted roadmap that guides readers step by step through the process of transforming into a leader, from becoming aware of what's at stake to learning and mastering the necessary skills for leadership. From this book, which offers "Key Ideas" at the end of each chapter, you will learn why you can't be an effective advocate for your school library unless you're a leader; how to tackle common fears about taking on a leadership role, and ways to move past them and gain confidence; guidance on managing classes in the library and the importance of leading with your attitude; approaches that will help you become an expert teacher, from "Creating a Climate for Questions" to inquiry-based learning and other variations; techniques for uncovering your strengths, identifying your skill set, and improving your leadership expertise; methods for building credibility among stakeholders and peers through strategic risk-taking; pointers on communicating effectively, becoming visible, behaving ethically, dealing with Imposter Syndrome, maintaining a healthy life-work balance, and navigating other important career issues; and how to create a three-year strategic plan to further your mission and your vision, enabling you to become a local educational leader who also has a presence on the state and national level.
The Safe Library by Steve Albrecht
Publication Date: 2023-02-25
For over 22 years, Steve Albrecht has trained thousands of library employees around the country on the dos and don''ts of handling challenging, entitled, eccentric, demanding, harassing, or even threatening patrons. His articles, blogs, podcasts, and keynote speeches have helped empower equip library employees at all levels to be more empowered, assertive, and confident when helping users who are struggling with homelessness, mental health issues, trauma backgrounds, and substance use problems. The Safe Library offers practical and realistic tools which will make every library facility a better, safer place to work.
The 12 Steps to a Community-Led Library by Audrey Barbakoff; Noah Lenstra
Publication Date: 2023-12-18
Libraries want to be more responsive to their diverse communities. Yet many libraries lack the structures, cultures, and mindsets to sustain community-led methods. This book lays out an evidence-based, twelve-step process that will help you transform your library in ways that serve your unique community effectively. Whether you're an administrator, middle manager, or a front-line library worker, the concrete strategies presented here will show you how to integrate community-led planning into your day-to-day activities. Anchored in original research by its authors and bolstered by real-world examples, this book introduces the foundations of community-led planning, including what it means, why it matters, and how to do it; takes you through a twelve-step process, adaptable to libraries of any size or budget and serving any type of community, to fundamentally shift your organization towards more equitable and community-centered ways of thinking; presents strategies for success, pitfalls to avoid, lessons from case studies, and key takeaways for each step; and offers tools to assess your organization's capacity, evaluate your progress, adapt, and troubleshoot.
Reference & Collections
Collection Thinking by Jason Camlot (Editor); Martha Langford (Editor); Linda M. Morra (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-09-07
Featuring over fifty illustrations and twenty-three original chapters that explore cases from a wide range of fields, including library and archival studies, literary studies, art history, media studies, sound studies, folklore studies, game studies, and education, Collection Thinking builds on the important scholarly works produced on the topic of the archive over the past two decades and contributes to ongoing debates on the historical status of memory institutions. The volume illustrates how the concept of "collection" bridges these institutional and structural categories, and generates discussions of cultural activities involving artifactual arrangement, preservation, curation, and circulation in both the private and the public spheres. Edited collaboratively by three senior scholars with expertise in the fields of literature, art history, archives, and museums, Collection Thinking is designed to stimulate interdisciplinary reflection and conversation. This book will be of interest to scholars and practitioners interested in how we organize materials for research across disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. With case studies that range from collecting Barbie dolls to medieval embroideries, and with contributions from practitioners on record collecting, the creation of sub-culture archives, and collection as artistic practice, this volume will appeal to anyone who has ever wondered about why and how collections are made.
Decentering Whiteness in Libraries by Andrea Jamison
Publication Date: 2023-09-24
The book serves as a "how to" guide for evaluating and crafting collection development policies that will help create equity in library collections. The book not only helps contextualize the need for inclusive collection development policies but features user-friendly tables, guides, and sample policies.
Decolonial Archival Futures by Krista McCracken; Skylee-Storm Hogan
Publication Date: 2023-08-07
Providing examples of successful approaches to unsettling Western archival paradigms from Canada, the United States, New Zealand, and Australia, this book showcases vital community archival work that will illuminate decolonial archival practices for archivists, curators, heritage practitioners, and others responsible for the stewardship of materials by and about Indigenous communities.
Disputed Archival Heritage by James Lowry (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-09-08
With chapters from established and emerging scholars in the field of archival studies, Disputed Archival Heritage extends and enriches the conversation that started with the earlier volume, Displaced Archives. Advancing novel theories and methods for understanding disputes and claims over archives, the volume includes chapters that focus on Indigenous records in settler colonial states; literary and community archives; sub-national and private sector displacements; successes in repatriating formerly displaced archives; comparisons with cultural objects seized by colonial powers; and the relationship between repatriation and reparations. Analysing key concepts such as joint heritage and provenance, the contributors unsettle Western understandings of records, place and ownership. Disputed Archival Heritage speaks to the growing interest in shared archival heritage, repatriation of cultural artefacts and cultural diasporas. As such, it will be a useful resource for academics, students and practitioners working in the field of archives, records, and information management, as well as cultural property and heritage management, peace and conflict studies and international law.
Foundations of Information Law by Paul T. Jaeger; Jonathan Lazar; Ursula Gorham; Natalie Greene Taylor
Publication Date: 2023-09-12
Learning the basic concepts of information law and the many legal concepts that come into play in the field of librarianship can seem like an overwhelming endeavor. Drawing upon the authors' unique backgrounds in both law and librarianship, this text is designed to empower readers to understand, rather than be intimidated by, the law. It melds essential context, salient examples of best practices, and stimulating discussions to illuminate numerous key legal and social issues directly related to the information professions. Helping readers better understand the role of law in their work, this primer discusses information law as part of a continuum of interrelated issues rather than an assortment of discrete topics; examines information law in the context of different types of libraries; delves into the manifold legal issues raised when interacting with patrons and communities, from intellectual freedom topics like censorship and public activities in the library to the legal issues surrounding materials and information access; elucidates operational and management legal issues, including library security, interacting with law enforcement, advocacy, lobbying, funding, human resources, and liability; promotes literacy of the law, its structures, and its terminology as a professional skill; gives readers the tools to find and understand different sources of legal authority and demonstrates how to interpret them when they conflict; and explores information law as a national and cross-national issue.
The Librarian's Guide to Learning Theory by Ann Medaille
Publication Date: 2023-10-20
From makerspaces to book clubs, from media facilities to group study spaces, from special events to book displays, libraries support learning in numerous ways. In this accessible handbook, Medaille unchains the field of learning theory from its verbose and dense underpinnings to show how libraries can use its concepts and principles to better serve the needs of their users. Readers will discover concrete ways to improve library instruction, spaces, services, resources, and technologies; succinct overviews of major learning theories drawn from the fields of psychology, education, philosophy, and anthropology, among others; summaries of the most relevant aspects of each theory and instructional methods, showing how the various theories interact and support each other; chapters organized into 14 learning topics, including motivation, self-regulation, collaboration, and inquiry; discussion of a range of instruction situations from information literacy instruction to the teaching of maker or media skills; and teaching librarian's tips, reflection questions, and suggestions for further reading at the end of each chapter.
The Library's Guide to Sexual and Reproductive Health Information by Barbara A. Alvarez
Publication Date: 2023-02-28
The need to find accurate information about sexual and reproductive health care, including abortion, has never felt more urgent. At the same time, mis- and disinformation proliferates as never before. Libraries are uniquely positioned community organizations that can cut through the miasma and provide facts about sensitive health topics like contraception, fertility, pregnancy options, and sexually transmitted infections. Geared towards public libraries but applicable to other settings, this book from reference expert Alvarez introduces the basic concept of sexual and reproductive health as a human right and the framework of reproductive justice, incorporating discussion of relevant legislation and historical concepts; presents practical collection development and reference strategies, highlighting a wide variety of books, websites, databases, and other resources that provide evidence-based sexual and reproductive health information; shares key facts and guidance on how to provide inclusive, non-judgmental services to all communities, including LGBTQIA+ and underrepresented populations; ideas for addressing community health needs through educational programs, services, and collaborations with local health centers and organizations; and includes suggestions for continued reading and education, with an appendix of recommended resources.
Profiles in Resilience by Christina Dorr
Publication Date: 2021-10-27
"This book helps to expand the definition of diversity in children's books by shedding light on an element of diversity that is sometimes overlooked--economic situation or income . . . Teachers and librarians will find it informative and engaging as it deepens their experience with both authors and books as well as their understanding of children who are experiencing generational poverty." --from the Foreword by Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop, Professor Emeritus, The Ohio State University Drawing from her own lived experience, in this guide Dorr shines a light on some of the cultural values that exist across both rural and urban poverty, inviting teachers, librarians, and others who work with children from low-income families to see them in their cultural context and appreciate the values they bring to the classroom or library. She spotlights a range of books for children and teens that offer literary mirrors to low-income children, as well as windows to more economically privileged readers, enabling all young readers to celebrate our common humanity. And she also shares the work of ten authors and illustrators familiar with poverty, offering insights into the sources of their stories and the ways storytellers' lived experience can influence their creative works and make their characters more authentic. You will discover an introduction which explores what it's like to grow up in generational poverty, including its long-term effects on children, the roles played by intersectional and institutional racism, the power of family, and how reading can act as powerful catalyst; biographical sketches of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, Cynthia Rylant, Kelly Yang, and other authors and illustrators; inspiring profiles and books spanning age ranges, genres, and formats that chronicle the lives of Ruth Bader Ginsberg, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Sonia Sotomayor, John Lewis, Wilma Mankiller, and other people who were raised in generational poverty; and four appendixes which spotlight even more stories of resilient individuals and fictional characters.
Records and Information Management by William Saffady
Publication Date: 2021-04-19
Records and Information Management: Fundamentals of Professional Practice, Fourth Edition presents principles and practices for systematic management of recorded information. It is an authoritative resource for newly appointed records managers and information governance specialists as well as for experienced records management and information governance professionals who want a review of specific topics. It is also a textbook for undergraduate and graduate students of records management or allied disciplines--such as library science, archives management, information systems, and office administration--that are concerned with the storage, organization, retrieval, retention, or protection of recorded information. The fourth edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded to: -Set the professional discipline of RIM in the context of information governance, risk mitigation, and compliance and indicate how it contributes to those initiatives in government agencies, businesses, and not-for-profit organizations -Provide a global perspective, with international examples and a discussion of the differences in records management issues in different parts of the world. Its seven chapters are practical, rather than theoretical, and reflect the scope and responsibilities of RIM programs in all types of organizations. -Emphasize best practices and relevant standards. The book is organized into seven chapters that reflect the scope and responsibilities of records and information management programs in companies, government agencies, universities, cultural and philanthropic institutions, professional services firms, and other organizations. Topics covered include the conceptual foundations of systematic records management, the role of records management as a business discipline, fundamentals of record retention, management of active and inactive paper records, document imaging technologies and methods, concepts and technologies for organization and retrieval of digital documents, and protection of mission-critical records. In every chapter, the treatment is practical rather than theoretical. Drawing on the author's extensive experience supplemented by insights from records management publications, the book emphasizes key concepts and proven methods that readers can use to manage electronic and physical records.
Unsettling Archival Research by Gesa E. Kirsch (Editor); Romeo García (Editor); Caitlin Burns Allen (Editor); Walker P. Smith (Editor); Jean Bessette (Contribution by); Wendy Hayden (Contribution by); Jacqueline Michele James (Contribution by); Kalyn Prince (Contribution by); Kathryn Manis (Contribution by); Patricia Anne Wilde (Contribution by); Lynée Lewis Gaillet (Contribution by); Jessica Alcorn Rose (Contribution by); María P. Carvajal Regidor (Contribution by); Sally Fisher Benson (Contribution by); Pamela Takayoshi (Contribution by); Liz Rohan (Contribution by); Tarez Samra Graban (Contribution by); Jennifer Marie Almjeld (Contribution by); Rebecca Schneider (Contribution by); Deborah R. Hollis (Contribution by); Amy J. Lueck (Contribution by); Nadia-Katherine Ghazi Nasr (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2023-03-22
HONORABLE MENTION, 2024 Conference on College Composition and Communication Outstanding Book Award in Edited Collection! A collection of accessible, interdisciplinary essays that explore archival practices to unsettle traditional archival theories and methodologies. What would it mean to unsettle the archives? How can we better see the wounded and wounding places and histories that produce absence and silence in the name of progress and knowledge? Unsettling Archival Research sets out to answer these urgent questions and more, with essays that chart a more just path for archival work. Unsettling Archival Research is one of the first publications in rhetoric and writing studies dedicated to scholarship that unsettles disciplinary knowledge of archival research by drawing on decolonial, Indigenous, antiracist, queer, and community perspectives. Written by established and emerging scholars, essays critique not only the practices, ideologies, and conventions of archiving, but also offer new tactics for engaging critical, communal, and digital archiving within and against systems of power. Contributors reflect on efforts to unsettle and counteract racist, colonial histories, confront the potentials and pitfalls of common archival methodologies, and chart a path for the future of archival research otherwise. Unsettling Archival Research intervenes in a critical issue: whether the discipline's assumptions about the archives serve or fail the communities they aim to represent and what can be done to center missing voices and perspectives. The aim is to explore the ethos and praxis of bearing witness in unsettling ways, carried out as a project of queering and/or decolonizing the archives. Unsettling Archival Research takes seriously the rhetorical force of place and wrestles honestly with histories that still haunt our nation, including the legacies of slavery, colonial violence, and systemic racism.
Technical Services, Digital Services & Technology
Creating Digital Exhibits for Cultural Institutions by Emily Marsh
Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Creating Digital Exhibits for Cultural Institutions will show you how to create digital exhibits and experiences for your users that will be informative, accessible and engaging. Illustrated with real-world examples of digital exhibits from a range of GLAMs, the book addresses the many analytical aspects and practical considerations involved in the creation of such exhibits. It will support you as you go about: analyzing content to find hidden themes, applying principles from the museum exhibit literature, placing your content within internal and external information ecosystems, selecting exhibit software, and finding ways to recognize and use your own creativity. Demonstrating that an exhibit provides a useful and creative connecting point where your content, your organization, and your audience can meet, the book also demonstrates that such exhibits can provide a way to revisit difficult and painful material in a way that includes frank and enlightened analyses of issues such as racism, colonialism, sexism, class, and LGBTQI+ issues. Creating Digital Exhibits for Cultural Institutions is an essential resource for librarians, archivists, and other cultural heritage professionals who want to promote their institution's digital content to the widest possible audience. Academics and students working in the fields of library and information science, museum studies and digital humanities will also find much to interest them within the pages of this book.