Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

National History Day Resources at the New Mexico State Library: Home

COVID-19 Statement

Due to the current pandemic, our building is temporarily closed to the public. Our librarians are working hard to answer your questions and to provide as much content as possible despite our limited access to our collections. If you have questions regarding your National History Day project, please email us at Ask A Librarian. We are happy to help.

Our collection of ebooks, New Mexico Reads, primarily includes Southwest history and culture titles. It also includes some books on racism in America, and national topics such as the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic.

 

 

El Portal provides both primary and secondary resources on a wide variety of subjects.

Theme 2021

undefinedThe New Mexico State Library wants to help you with your National History Day Project. Use this guide as a way to explore the types of collections available within our walls, as well as, the digital content we make available to students all over New Mexico. If you don't see what you need, contact us. We have librarians here to help you with your research questions. Don't be shy, we look forward to helping you!

Visit these pages to get started.

2021 Theme Book

NHD Contest Rules

National History Day - New Mexico

Researching at the New Mexico State Library

The New Mexico State Library has a large collection of historic New Mexico newspapers, books on the history and culture of New Mexico and the Southwest, and many state and federal documents, including those published by Congress and the New Mexico State Government.

We have in-building wifi, public computers, microfilm readers, in-house databases, and plenty of tables. Bring your I.D. to get a library card!

The New Mexico State Library is located at 1209 Camino Carlos Rey in Santa Fe. We are open M-F from 11 am - 5 pm. If you have a question, please email or call us (505-476-9702); we are happy to help you with your National History Day Research.

We are located in the same building as the New Mexico State Archives and the Office of the New Mexico State Historian.

A lot of research is done in this building, come join us!

 

Amy Schaefer, Southwest Librarian

Amy Schaefer's picture
Amy Schaefer
Contact:
1209 Camino Carlos Rey
Santa Fe, NM
87507
505-476-9718