Internet Resources

This is a list of resources that will guide you toward genealogical resources rather than how-to information. There are many websites with advice on how to conduct research on your Native American heritage. Please investigate and evaluate those resources on your own; many of them have excellent information.

Indigenous Digital Archive The Indigenous Digital Archive is here to help you explore the history of US government Indian boarding schools in the 19th and 20th centuries. Explore, annotate and learn from over 500,000 archival documents about Santa Fe Indian School, 1920, all kinds of boarding school records, and letters. https://omeka.dlcs-ida.org/s/ida/page/home

Carlisle Indian School Digital Resource Center http://carlisleindian.dickinson.edu/ The Carlisle Indian Industrial School is a major site of memory for many Native peoples, as well as a source of study for students and scholars around the globe. This website represents an effort to aid the research process by bringing together, in digital format, a variety of resources that are physically preserved in various locations around the country. Through these resources, we seek to increase knowledge and understanding of the school and its complex legacy, while also facilitating efforts to tell the stories of the many thousands of students who were sent there. This collection includes:

National Archives, Native American Heritage Researching an Individual or Family Useful for locating names dates locations etc (BIA, Indian Census, School Records, Employment Records, and Military Records) https://www.archives.gov/research/native-americans/research-individual-more.html

National Archives, Administrative Records Related to American Indian Schools

In addition to the Student Case Files, researchers can locate administrative records pertaining to American Indian schools at many National Archives facilities nationwide. These records can include correspondence, reports, school censuses, attendance records, and photographs created and maintained by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA), its field agencies, and non-reservation boarding schools. These records often include information about local American Indian students attending non-reservation boarding schools. These record series may include:

Annuals, journals, and publications
Correspondence
Financial documents
Medical records
Registers
Reports
School applications

https://www.archives.gov/research/native-americans/schools/school-records-more

National Congress of American Indians Tribal Directory http://www.ncai.org/tribal-directory

Tribal Leaders Directory https://www.bia.gov/service/tribal-leaders-directory

Federally Recognized Tribes and Native Villages https://narf.org/nill/triballaw/directories.html

Native American Obituaries: A Project of the Farmington, NM Family History Center and the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Contained in this indexed, downloadable, and searchable document are 472 obituaries taken from 6 newspapers: The Daily Times of Farmington, N.M., Then Winslow Mail, Montezuma Valley Sun, Cortez Journal, Navajo Times, and Lake Powell Chronicle. It is also available as a book at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, UT https://www.scribd.com/doc/109032703/Native-American-Obituaries#scribd