Collection Diversity Audits: 10 Steps to Success

April 4, 2024, 12:30 p.m. MT

Register

To ensure that your library’s collection represents the entire community, it is essential to periodically evaluate the representation included in your materials, assess gaps, and create new processes to meet your community’s needs. Implementing a diversity audit is critical to understanding the current state of your collection and will lead the way as you develop plans to expand, improve, and adapt your collection.

In this webinar, learn how to create and conduct a diversity audit, evaluate materials for inclusivity, and develop strategies for library users to find diverse materials in the collection. You’ll leave this webinar with concrete, step-by-step instructions on conducting a diversity audit and using your findings to improve your collection.

After participating in this event, participants will:

  • Be able to implement a comprehensive diversity audit of their collection.
  • Have a strong understanding of how to evaluate materials for inclusivity.
  • Be able to develop strategies for library users to find diverse materials in their collections.

Shoshana Frank is an Information Services Librarian at Aurora University. When not reviewing for Booklist or judging National Book Awards, Shoshana is creating an array of programs, displays, and book discussions; teaching research methods; and answering references queries. Shoshana designed and executed the first collection diversity audit at Aurora University’s Phillips Library. Shoshana is an activist and leader in a number of community organizations. She was named to the Jewish United Fund’s 36 under 36 in 2022 for her work in diversity and equality. Outside of work, Shoshana is an avid volunteer, social justice advocate, and world traveler.

Nicole Lawton is a Children’s Services Librarian at the Naperville Public Library. Nicole is responsible for programming for children of all ages, assisting local educators with obtaining library materials for their classrooms, organizing outreach events at local schools and childcare centers, and serving as a member of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion team. Nicole is passionate about diversity in Children’s Literature and shares her passion for this topic by facilitating workshops for pre-service teachers at North Central College.

This event will be hosted in Zoom. Automatic captions will be enabled for this event. This event will be recorded, and registrants will receive access to the recording within a day after the event ends.

If you have questions or requests regarding accessibility, contact us at ce@ala.org or at 312-280-5100.

Register