New in Library and Information Science

Despite the volumes of information they contain, few libraries know how to prepare for, endure, and survive any type of disaster. This completely updated second edition of Emergency Preparedness for Libraries provides library management with a comprehensive guide to planning and executing emergency procedures. Emergency Preparedness for Libraries provides library personnel with detailed instructions for protecting staff, patrons, and the facilities themselves, including: -Steps to take now, before disaster strikes -People and procedures to include in an emergency/disaster action plan -Practical ways to turn written plans into an instinctual team response -Safety considerations to take into account when caring for people on-site during an emergency -Information to provide to the umbrella organization and the media after a disaster -Key things to do the first few days after an event -Tips for getting back to business

Advocating a strategic approach, this book shows how to form a plan, secure funding and support, and create effective programs for adults, children, and youth who are experiencing homelessness. You'll find guidance for creating partnerships, training staff, and advocating. Taking a holistic approach that will help you to better understand the experience of homelessness within the context of your library community, this book offers new strategies and tools for addressing the challenge of meeting the needs of the entire community, including those who are unstably housed. With basic facts, statistics, and conversations about homelessness, the author makes a case for why libraries should provide support, explains exactly which needs they may be able (or unable) to meet, and shows how this support can be a natural part of the library services you already provide. Topics discussed include trauma-informed care, harm reduction, and mental and physical health challenges; brief stories and concrete examples illustrate the principles and guidelines discussed. Citing innovative services such as Dallas Public Library's "coffee and conversation" program and San Francisco Public Library's social worker program, the book offers both food for thought and tools for action as public librarians strive to understand and meet the needs of a population that has traditionally been stereotyped and excluded. Discusses specific short-term and long-term actions that libraries can take to better address the needs of community members who are experiencing homelessness Outlines steps libraries can take to balance the needs of all library users Shows how to identify and work with potential partners Describes new ways libraries can and are addressing common barriers to library services for those experiencing homelessness

In the face of rapid change and an ever-widening constellation of challenges, it's crucial for library leaders to pull back to the question of "why?" Plotting a sustainable way forward depends upon recommitting ourselves to our underlying values, such as customer service and community-building, while fostering the improvements that change makes possible. With passion, patience, and fortitude, libraries can stride confidently into the future. In this book, noted speakers and consultants Bignoli and Stara speak directly to library directors, managers, administrators, and technology staff, offering concrete guidance on setting or resetting strategic priorities. Taking an interconnected and specific approach to planning for and strengthening the library environment as a whole, their book discusses why libraries should embrace change as a fundamental part of library life;  explores how to harness rapid change to provide more responsive, user-centered library service; addresses the ways in which libraries straddle the physical and the digital, in areas such as service provision and collections, illuminating how they overlap and can be improved using similar philosophies; presents both a comprehensive overview of library technologies as well as related team and change management advice, all grounded in user experience principles; shows how the concepts of sustainability and flexibility apply to physical space planning and design, from furniture selection and arrangement to infrastructure; and provides sound guidance on project management, problem solving, preparing for future challenges, personal reflection and self-care, and other leadership topics.

In a changing world, with multiple and often conflicting voices, the library's important role as a location of safety and inclusion as well as the crusader for knowledge cannot be overstated. It can be easy to reflect differing perspectives in our collections and displays, but if we do not practice our values, we are lacking. As leaders in our communities, librarians have an obligation to educate and inform; we must be ready to lead and model the principles we support. The question that arises for many is: how? As an integral part of the community, libraries need to move beyond diverse collection development and social issues displays. Here, experienced librarians offer suggestions, guidance and inspiration to motivate librarians at all levels to consider the assumptions we may take for granted, seek out new creative paths, and work to support change in our organizations. Be it steps to create a book group for the intellectually disabled, partnering with social workers or advocacy for employees with disabilities from within, included in these chapters are both theoretical foundation and hands on practical ideas.

In our polarized environment, the censorship and outright banning of children's books which some deem to be controversial or objectionable remains a major concern for libraries. Intellectual freedom champion Scales returns to the fray with a new edition of her matchless guide, updating the focus to titles published since 2015 which have been the target of challenges. School and public librarians, LIS students, and classroom educators will find the assistance and support they need to defend these challenged books with an informed response while ensuring access to young book lovers. For each of the dozens of titles covered, readers will find a book summary; a report of the specific challenges;  quotes from reviews, plus a list of awards and accolades;  talking points for discussing the book's issues and themes;  links to the book's website, additional resources about the book, and suggested further reading; and  read-alikes that have been challenged for similar reasons.

Collecting several key documents and policy statements, this supplement to the ninth edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual traces a history of ALA's commitment to fighting censorship. An introductory essay by Judith Krug and Candace Morgan, updated by OIF Director Barbara Jones, sketches out an overview of ALA policy on intellectual freedom. An important resource, this volume includes documents which discuss such foundational issues as The Library Bill of Rights Protecting the freedom to read ALA's Code of Ethics How to respond to challenges and concerns about library resources Minors and internet activity Meeting rooms, bulletin boards, and exhibits Copyright Privacy, including the retention of library usage records

The newest edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual is more than simply an update of a foundational text that has served as a crucial resource for more than four decades. It is a living document that serves as the authoritative reference for day-to-day guidance on maintaining free and equal access to information for all people. Whether you're developing or revising policies, on-boarding new staff or trustees, responding to challenges and controversies, or studying librarianship, you'll find this an indispensable resource, with features such as ALA policy statements, approved by committees and Council, articulating core intellectual freedom principles and best practices; 8 new interpretations of the Library Bill of Rights, which address urgent issues like internet filtering, public performances, political activity, religion, and equity, diversity, and inclusion; "Issues at a Glance" sidebars which present key concepts, points of law, tips, and questions for reflection; expanded content about developing library policies that support intellectual freedom; updated information on censorship of library programs, displays, and databases; "Advocacy and Assistance," a section offering concrete guidance when you're called on to talk to the media or meet with legislators; Deeper Look essays which examine the laws related to library operations; advice on when to call the police, when not to, and how to handle personally identifiable information when they arrive; and an expanded glossary.

Intellectual freedom is a complex concept that democracies and free societies around the world define in different ways but always strive to uphold. And ALA has long recognized the crucial role that libraries play in protecting this right. But what does it mean in practice? How do library workers handle the ethical conundrums that often accompany the commitment to defending it? Rather than merely laying out abstract policies and best practices, this important new collection gathers real-world stories of intellectual freedom in action to illuminate the difficulties, triumphs, and occasional setbacks of advocating for free and equal access to information for all people in a shifting landscape. Offering insight to LIS students and current practitioners on how we can advance the profession of librarianship while fighting censorship and other challenges, these personal narratives explore such formidable situations as presenting drag queen story times in rural America; a Black Lives Matter "die-in" at the undergraduate library of the University of Wisconsin-Madison; combating censorship at a prison library; hosting a moderated talk about threats to modern democracy that included a neo-Nazi spokesman; a provocative exhibition that triggered intimidating phone calls, emails, and a threat to burn down an art library;   calls to eliminate non-Indigenous children's literature from the collection of a tribal college library; and preserving patrons' right to privacy in the face of an FBI subpoena.

Anime (or "Japanese Animation") has seen a continuing rise in popularity over the past decade of North American pop culture. Droves of die-hard, dedicated fans can be found all over comic shops, conventions, and social media at large, discussing or debating the merits of their favorite Anime fandoms. Public libraries have been quick to catch on, and have long been an excellent gathering place for this community of passionate consumers - be it for movie screenings or anime and manga collection offerings. With the recent widespread adoption of English dubbed content and the explosion of Anime merchandise sales outside of Japan, Anime and Manga are more accessible to North Americans than ever before. In addition to providing a long list of programming examples and ideas, this practical guide will teach librarians how to capture the interest of this fandom community, why the library is the perfect place to do so, and how to expand this thematic programming into further learning and socialization opportunities. Special Features include: -Real examples of current and successful Anime Club programs created by librarians. -Anime: It's Not Just "Cartoons" Discovering opportunities for youth engagement, STEM learning, and vital youth socialization within Japanese Animation. -Clear, concise instructions for incorporating one off or series Anime events for all budget ranges and age groups. -How to avoid cultural appropriation by engaging your community to make the most out of possible partnerships and resources. -Anime Club party plans for a wide range of different holidays. -How to obtain public performance rights for anime screenings, -Where to find inclusive anime representations of diverse communities

Developing a Library Accessibility Plan: A Practical Guide for Librarians provides library professionals with the knowledge, tools and templates, and practical examples necessary for developing a tailored and comprehensive accessibility plan for their institution. Part One provides foundational knowledge about disability experiences in libraries, including an overview of existing legislation and a breakdown of the disability community in the United States. This part also names and defines the impact of different accessibility barriers within online, physical, and instructional settings for different populations. Part Two outlines the initial stages of a developing a comprehensive plan for resolving accessibility issues. These chapters explore how to conduct an environmental scan of existing challenges, strategies for identifying potential partners in the resolution of these problems, and how to prioritize accessibility initiatives and projects. Part Three provides several practical, real life examples of projects and initiatives drawn from the author's professional experiences. These case studies offer a summary of each accessibility project along the corresponding impact, finished by an analysis of "lessons learned" from the experience. A copy of all tools, templates, and other planning documents are available in the chapter itself. The book will help readers understand how to inventory, prioritize, plan, implement, and assess a comprehensive improvement plan for electronic, physical, and instructional and/or programming-related accessibility issues within their library.

Exhibits and displays are booming and in demand at all types of libraries. From simple displays of books to full-scale museum-quality exhibitions, library exhibits can highlight collections that surprise visitors, tell stories, and engage audiences in innovative ways. Often, exhibits feature more than books-showcasing art, photographs, archival materials, multimedia elements, as well as hands-on activities. Stepping outside traditional walls, digital exhibits reach audiences beyond the circulation desk and pave another way for libraries to share information, promote resources, and even lead change in the community. Despite the growing interest, most library and information science (LIS) programs do not include exhibit development courses. It is not uncommon for librarians learn exhibit production on the job or through resources in the museum sector. Wearing many hats, librarians absorb exhibit work as part of community outreach initiatives, or take on exhibit duties as a general professional interest in the emerging field. Exhibits & Displays is a practical how-to guide that helps librarians unleash their library's potential to engage and wow visitors. The guide explains how to kick-start and grow an exhibit program through expert advice, insights from professional literature, and winning case studies that cover exhibition development from conceptual planning through de-installation packing and evaluation. Exhibits & Display: A Practical Guide for Librarians covers: - Pre-planning - Curation and content development - Project management - Graphic design and writing for readability - Preservation and collection care - Legal considerations and loan registration - Installation/de-installation and maintenance tips - Hands-on interactives and digital exhibits - Educational programming - Marketing - Audience evaluation - Supplemental examples and case studies Librarians in academic, public, school, and special libraries will benefit from Exhibits & Displays: A Practical Guide for Librarians. The book is also an excellent textbook for LIS courses covering exhibition development and outreach.

Libraries and library staff are constantly in the process of expanding and adapting services in order to remain responsive to their varied user communities. As part of this trend, there is an increasing emphasis on providing a wide variety of programs and events; this service expansion has been met with broad enthusiasm by library users everywhere. Great Library Events: From Planning to Promotion to Evaluation, with its holistic approach to program provision, serves as an indispensable companion for anyone responsible for event or program planning in their organization. The guide moves through a program's lifecycle, beginning with the initial steps of defining an event's scope, ensuring inclusivity, and constructing measurable objectives. It follows with practical considerations such as finding funding, publicizing, assessing outcomes, reporting, and using data to keep the program cycle going. To support each of these steps, and to help ensure successful initiatives, practical examples, templates, and tools are provided throughout. While this book is aimed at library managers and programming staff, it will be helpful for anyone responsible for event or program planning in their organization, whether they are new to the task or seasoned professionals.

Roman philosopher Cicero once remarked that "if you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Today, libraries nationwide are beginning to incorporate gardens into their public services. Libraries in the southwestern US, for instance, are creating drought-tolerant gardens as neighborhood demonstration projects, while elsewhere gardens are being used to promote community engagement and even STEM learning. Citing examples of library gardens around the world that are thriving, this first-ever book on the subject not only demonstrates the many benefits of library gardens but also provides a complete overview of issues applicable to all library types and geographical environments. Featuring a full-color photo insert showcasing several beautiful library gardens, among the topics covered in the book are a brief history of libraries and gardens, with an overview of such "demonstration gardens" as medicinal and herbal gardens, native plant gardens, xeriscapes, and gardens as wildlife sanctuaries; the use of plants, such as living walls and rooftop gardens, to create ecologically healthy, sustainable environments; gardens as learning environments and spaces for storytimes and active play; food gardens, seed libraries, sensory gardens, outdoor reading areas, prison garden programs, and many other ways that libraries can engage communities; guidance on designing for inclusivity, planning, funding, staffing, recruiting volunteers, and planting and maintenance, complete with advice on determining the best plants to cultivate; and ideas on evaluating the effectiveness of library gardens and the program opportunities they offer. Readers will not only be inspired to create and nurture their own library gardens and programs, they will receive practical advice on how to proceed and sustain them.

Public libraries everywhere have embraced inclusion and expanded their programming for youth with disabilities, especially autism. It's imperative that libraries also offer rich and age-appropriate initiatives for adults with developmental disabilities; after all, as youth now served by their libraries grow up and reach adulthood, they will continue to want and expect libraries to be responsive to their needs. Klipper and Banks, two librarians with a long-standing focus on inclusivity, combine research-based theory and an introduction to best practices with details on how to replicate field-tested programs for adults with developmental disabilities (DD). Readers will learn key ideas about DD, such as an examination and debunking of commonly held stereotypes and misconceptions about people with DD and the role ableism plays in perpetuating them;   be introduced to self-advocates and their ways of viewing DD, including terminology and the Neurodiversity movement; get pointers on how to create a culture of inclusion at the library, with discussions of Universal Design and UDL, staff training, and anticipating the unexpected; explore the needs of adults with DD who are also LGBTQA+, people of color, immigrants and English language learners, seniors, those with dual diagnoses, and other aspects of intersectionality in library programming;  understand how to build on and modify existing children's and YA practice to ensure that library users with DD receive age-appropriate and respectful library service; learn how to make virtual programming accessible and which programs can be successfully brought online; discover a myriad of programs ready to adapt for their own libraries, such as Sensory Storytime for adults, book clubs, arts and crafts programs, adaptive gaming, job skills workshops, cooking programs, and many more; see how programming for adults with DD works in academic libraries; and gain skills for outreach and keeping current, with guidance on forming and strengthening partnerships, advocacy, fundraising, marketing, and additional resources for deepening knowledge of DD.  

Foreword by Barbara Klipper Since the first edition of this landmark guide was published, there has been increased interest in services for library patrons on the autism spectrum; indeed, more people of all ages now self-identify as autistic. Those who understand the unique characteristics of autistic young people know that ordinary library programming guides are not up to the task of effectively serving these library users. Well qualified to speak to this need, Anderson is an educator, library researcher, and former public librarian who has helped to develop two IMLS funded initiatives that train library workers to better understand and serve autistic patrons. Here, she offers librarians who work with children and teens in both public library and K-12 educational settings an updated, comprehensive resource that includes an updated introduction to the basics of autism, including language, symbolism, and best practices in the library rooted in the principles of Universal Design; step-by-step programs from librarians across the country, adaptable for both public and school library settings, that are cost-effective and easy to replicate; contributions from autistic self-advocates throughout the text, demonstrating that the program ideas included are truly designed with their preferences in mind; suggestions for securing funding and establishing partnerships with community organizations; and many helpful appendices, with handy resources for training and education, building a collection, storytimes, sensory integration activities, and a "Tips for a Successful Library Visit" template.

The rise of makerspaces within public and academic libraries has led to a wide variety of books, articles, and presentations that discuss how to set up your space, what equipment to buy, and, to a lesser degree, how to get the support of your administration or the community to include a new space within your library. One of the first makerspace books published focusing on adult makers rather than K-12, Makerspaces for Adults: Best Practices and Great Projects highlights how to integrate your makerspace within university and public libraries and the wider community. Discover how you can connect your makerspace with service learning to support a variety of groups, take your makerspace tools to various points of need through community partnerships, and build relationships with faculty, students, and patrons through makerspace projects. You will learn about collaboration, innovation, course integration, experiential education, com-munity engagement, working with adults with disabilities, accessible makerspaces, design thinking, 3D printing, vinyl and laser cutters, 3D design, VR projects, and so much more. Intended for librarians, faculty, and staff who would like to implement more making into their classes and build productive collaborations, this book includes sections that cover academic libraries, connecting to the curriculum, public libraries and community outreach, and concludes with a variety of tried and tested projects. Chapters cover a range of issues from building an accessible makerspace to developing programming for fashion, archaeology, or literature courses. Each project features background information, equipment lists, and step-by-step instructions, as well as tips and lessons learned, providing readers with a guide to develop their own projects. Book jacket.

Senior citizens (frequently referred to by the more inclusive term "older adults") are one of the largest and fastest growing demographics in the world. Public libraries have a duty to serve these individuals with the same level of care and opportunity for participation that is afforded to younger generations. This book explores older adults' values and needs and describes the many ways libraries can serve them in effective ways. Senior Services Today: A Practical Guide for Librarians is a comprehensive guide to library services for this important community. Chapters cover these critical areas: Engaging Older Adults in Library Programs and Services Understanding Demographic Differences Marketing to Older Adults: Strategies Programming Ideas for Older Adults in the Modern Age Enhancing Technology Accessibility for Older Adults Community Outreach: Serving Outside the Library Specialty Collections Items Continuing the Library's Relationship with an Aging Population While many times libraries tend to allocate budget and funding to flashier, brighter programs aimed at a more youthful audiences, this book shows how and why that same enthusiasm should be applied to crafting an engaging senior services plan. Gone are the conventional days of bingo and knitting circles; while those programs certainly have their place, this books aims to show that seniors also crave fun experiences alongside opportunities to make their own lives easier and more stress free-- and to illuminates how libraries can strike this balance by offering an enriching senior services roster.

Using STEAM activities, this book places school librarians at the intersection with inquiry in an elementary school. Learners will think like a scientist and design like an engineer using an iterative process to make authentic learning connections and develop a growth mindset. Designed to be completed in 30-minute class periods, 14 scaffolded STEAM activities allow school librarians to easily shift the same lesson between classes and grade levels. National School Library Standards alignments with STEAM content area standards promote instructional partnerships focused on teaching inquiry, collaboration, and learner-driven exploration, making STEAM a perfect approach for the elementary school library. An invaluable timesaver, this resource provides activities scaffolded for grade bands K-2, 3-4, and 5-6, engaging learners at greater levels of complexity or cognition; alignments to the AASL Standards Framework for Learners, the Next Generation Science Standards, and the National Core Arts Standards; science background for school librarians and other educators who may be unfamiliar with the STEAM concepts being explored; sample assessments, technology integration, collaboration and growth mindset tips, suggested picture books, and more.

The library programs featured in this unique collection are those that have been suggested, created, and led by youth with the help and guidance of the supportive adults at their library. Many times, librarians bring ideas to teens in hopes of getting them to buy in and perhaps help them to run programs. In this book, you'll primarily find a role reversal Tweens and teens lead the way with whatever adult information, support, and supervision they need to see their proposals through. To accomplish this, the youth are encouraged to create new ideas, are empowered to make decisions, and are given control. Plus, the ideas they bring to life are not just peer-focused. The programs, activities, and events they create and lead can be for children, adults, or even for all ages or mixed audiences, as well as for fellow tweens and teens. In addition to finding a wide array of proven ideas, recommendations, and testimonials from real tweens and teenagers, you will discover helpful advice on using the philosophies behind allowing youth to not only have a say but to take action; testimonials from adults who have worked directly with youth having this level of empowerment; suggestions on getting approval and providing funding and other support for youth ideas; ways to evaluate such youth-led programs; and sample forms, flyers, and other materials that can be adapted.

We are only now coming to terms with how common trauma really is; a landmark Kaiser study that surveyed patients receiving physicals found that almost two-thirds had experienced at least one form of abuse, neglect, or other trauma as a child. Though originating in the fields of health and social services, trauma-informed care is a framework that holds great promise for application to library work. Empathetic service, positive patron encounters, and a more trusting workplace are only a few of the benefits that this approach offers. In this important book Tolley, experienced in both academic and public libraries, brings these ideas into the library context. Library administrators, directors, and reference and user services staff will all benefit from learning  the six key principles of trauma-informed care; characteristics of a trusting and transparent library organization, plus discussion questions to promote a sense of psychological safety among library workers; how certain language and labels can undermine mutuality, with suggested phrases that will help library staff demonstrate neutrality to patron ideas and views during information requests; delivery models that empower patrons;  advice on balancing free speech on campus with students' need for safety; how appropriate furniture arrangement can help people suffering from PTSD feel safe; guidance on creating safe zones for LGBTQIA+ children, teens, and adults; and self-assessment tools to support change toward trauma-responsive library services.

Yoga and meditation have a proven track record of lowering stress levels, helping to treat mental health issues such as depression and post-traumatic stress disorder, building community, and contributing to an overall sense of wellbeing in their practitioners. According to recent surveys, 1/4 of North American libraries have offered meditation programs and 2/3 have offered yoga classes. Carson, a professional yoga teacher and library director, has been leading yoga and meditation programs in schools and libraries for over a decade, and she presents this guidebook to give others the tools for serving library patrons of all ages and abilities. Inside Yoga and Meditation at the Library, you will find 21 program models, including choreographed yoga sequences complete with pictures, passive program ideas, alternative collections suggestions, budget considerations, literacy tie-ins, and checklists for prep, teardown, and follow-up, as well as advice from real-world program delivery. Chapters include: -What are Mindfulness and Meditation? -What is Yoga? -Implementing Yoga and Meditation Programs in Your Library -Choosing Resources and Designing Spaces -Passive Programs and Alternative Collections -Policies and Procedures for Avoiding and Handling Problems -Yoga and Meditation for the Early Years -Yoga and Meditation for Elementary-Age Students -Yoga and Meditation for Teens and Young Adults -Yoga and Meditation for Adults and Seniors -Yoga for Every Body: Inclusive Programming through Outreach and Inreach This book is for any programming librarian, administrator, yoga and meditation teacher, or outreach coordinator looking to boost circulation stats, program numbers, literacy rates, and foster health and wellness in their community.

Grant money can make all the difference in developing new services, creating worldwide access to your unique collections, or enabling you to showcase awarded projects that advance your career. But competition for grants is as fierce as ever. To get a leg up, you need an insider who will share proven strategies for success. In this book, Bess G. de Farber, who has led the management of 187 awarded grant projects from under $5,000 to more than $1 million at the University of Florida, does just that. Drawing from profiles of 57 grant proposals, sponsored by 31 funders including federal agencies, foundations, and library organizations, her detailed 10-step workflow guides you through submitting and managing collaborative grant proposals. You will learn about successful projects related to digitization, preservation, research, technology, and more, including such initiatives as digital publishing on Black life, audio of the sounds of the Panama Canal, digitization of scientific fieldwork from the 1960s, and supporting learning with smart pens; the crucial components of a fundable project plan, with a particular emphasis on collaboration, both internally and with external organizations; the fundamentals of crafting your own grant proposal, using as models the successful grant proposals included in full, with budgets, as weblinks; how to recruit partners and shape ideas; ways to incorporate assets and supporting materials into your plan; and advice on anticipating the unexpected, how to stay in communication with your partners while the proposal is being reviewed, what to do once you receive notification, and fostering a culture of grantsmanship at your institution.

Like other workplaces, libraries can sometimes be stressful, with library workers bearing the brunt of such problems as uncivil patrons, poor communication, inadequate leadership, and toxic behaviors by fellow employees. But there's hope. Following up their acclaimed examination of the dysfunctional library ("should be essential reading for library leaders" raves Journal of the Australian Library and Information Association), here the authors present a book of proactive solutions and guidance culled from their own research, including interviews with library administrators and staff. Sharing valuable insights that will stimulate thought and discussion towards the goal of a healthier and more harmonious workplace, this book addresses the subject from four viewpoints--individual, team, leader, and organization--focusing on solutions and practical steps in each area; shows how self-reflection and self-awareness can be key starting points for exploring workplace issues; offers numerous suggestions for wellness and self-care; provides tips for improving interpersonal communication and conversations in ways that prevent silos and span boundaries; sheds light on forming and sustaining cohesive library teams, then provides solutions for misaligned teams and dissenters; discusses why effectively conveying vision, role modeling, and demonstrating empathy are all crucial behaviors of library leaders; shares actions library leaders can take to engage employees in the change process; examines how organizational structures can either detract or contribute to a library's success; and details types of training that can be utilized to minimize dysfunction, including training for bias, empathy, conflict management, and diversity. Filled with beneficial advice on every page, this resource will help libraries be better workplaces for everyone.

Most professional librarians, even recent graduates, manage something, whether it be a project, service, department, or a whole library. This book explains the different managerial roles at libraries, looking at the levels of managers, what they do, and how they do it. The goal is to explore the unique challenges faced by different types of library managers, in order to prepare early and mid-career librarians to step into new roles, and to think about how they might progress toward upper-management in a library. The approach is practice-driven, with a particular focus on the soft skills that are needed to be successful as a manager. Library Management: A Practical Guide for Librarians features three parts: project management, middle management, and upper management. These sections cover the different kinds of challenges that face people at each level of their career, exploring how these challenges can help prepare librarians for promotion to the next level. The purpose of these sections is to show how management skills develop over the course of one's career, and to explore how leaders changes from context to context. Though each section focuses on a particular level of authority, the lessons can be useful for and applied to all of the levels discussed. For example, the same librarian might fill different roles in different contexts. A dean might serve as a library's executive, but also manage a university-wide project or a middle manager might step into the role of dean temporarily, or might wonder what the next level of management would require.

In the face of rapid change and an ever-widening constellation of challenges, it's crucial for library leaders to pull back to the question of "why?" Plotting a sustainable way forward depends upon recommitting ourselves to our underlying values, such as customer service and community-building, while fostering the improvements that change makes possible. With passion, patience, and fortitude, libraries can stride confidently into the future. In this book, noted speakers and consultants Bignoli and Stara speak directly to library directors, managers, administrators, and technology staff, offering concrete guidance on setting or resetting strategic priorities. Taking an interconnected and specific approach to planning for and strengthening the library environment as a whole, their book discusses why libraries should embrace change as a fundamental part of library life;  explores how to harness rapid change to provide more responsive, user-centered library service; addresses the ways in which libraries straddle the physical and the digital, in areas such as service provision and collections, illuminating how they overlap and can be improved using similar philosophies; presents both a comprehensive overview of library technologies as well as related team and change management advice, all grounded in user experience principles; shows how the concepts of sustainability and flexibility apply to physical space planning and design, from furniture selection and arrangement to infrastructure; and provides sound guidance on project management, problem solving, preparing for future challenges, personal reflection and self-care, and other leadership topics.

Gallup's 2019 State of the American Workplace Report found that 70 percent of employees are disengaged at work. Why is worker engagement so important? Engaged workers lead to engaged libraries -- vibrant institutions that nurture their workers' dedication, creativity, and innovation so they can serve their communities most effectively. This guide walks library managers and administrators through concrete steps to change their organization's culture so that it fosters worker engagement, using first-hand accounts from library staff to illustrate both successes and failures. Readers will discover why libraries often fall short at hiring good leadership and ways to develop better recruitment strategies moving forward; how lack of trust pushes workplace culture towards incivility, hostility, and lower morale, and what library leaders can do to rebuild it; methods for using recognition and praise as tools for sustaining a positive work environment; the rationale for eliminating annual performance reviews in favor of less formal one-on-one conversations and "just in time" continuous feedback; the secrets behind high performing teams, strategies to support dysfunctional teams, and tips on how to develop remote teamwork; and why viewing diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) as separate from workplace culture is counterproductive, since it is actually the positive result of a strong foundation, with advice on combating the factors that contribute to low retention rates of BIPOC librarians.

Assessment is increasingly integral to building, managing, and justifying library collections. Unfortunately, assessment can also be a daunting undertaking. And though every institution is unique, as this manual demonstrates, there's no need to reinvent the wheel. Spanning both concept and practice, Kelly offers a holistic assessment framework suitable to a variety of collections and contexts. With a structure that makes it applicable as both a training tool for practicing librarians and a useful course text for library students, this manual introduces foundational assessment methodologies then provides concrete guidance on how to contextualize those methodologies within a holistic collections assessment program; covers topics such as assessment goals, assessment stakeholders, selecting data and methodologies, working through project constraints, and project planning; includes sample assessment program structures and other useful templates; provides step-by-step instructions for more than a dozen specific methodologies, describing which aspect of the collection is being measured, what goals the methodology can address, technological requirements, recommended visualizations, and other helpful pointers; and shares best practices for communicating effectively with internal and external stakeholders about assessment projects, with sample communication plans that can be easily adapted.

Learn how to assist library patrons, including self-represented litigants, through legal research instruction, programming, and outreach. According to the National Center for State Courts, in 76 percent of civil cases in the United States at least one of the parties represents themself. As more people represent themselves in court, more are coming to the library to seek answers to legal questions. Do you ever feel panicked when someone asks you a legal reference question? Are you are not sure where to look for information or how much information you can provide? What can libraries do to assist self-represented litigants? Deborah Hamilton began her career as a law librarian with no formal legal training. Now, not only does she help people with legal reference questions, but she also provides legal programming and outreach to the community. Learn the difference between legal information and legal advice as well as how to connect with community groups who provide legal services. In this book, Hamilton teaches librarians how to teach themselves about legal research and resources, as well as offering practical ideas for types of legal programs and outreach that they can proactively offer patrons. Get ideas for legal programming and outreach to assist patrons with legal questions Know where to find free legal resources and how to research legal questions Understand the difference between legal information and legal advice Learn where to look for and how to connect with community groups who provide legal services Understand the justice gap and the challenges that patrons face when they represent themselves

Cataloging library materials for children in the internet age has never been as challenging or as important. RDA: Resource Description and Access is now the descriptive standard, there are new ways to find materials using classifications, and subject heading access has been greatly enhanced by the keyword capabilities of today's online catalogs. It's the perfect moment to present a completely overhauled edition of this acclaimed bestseller. The new sixth edition guides catalogers, children's librarians, and LIS students in taking an effective approach towards materials intended for children and young adults. Informed by recent studies of how children search, this handbook's top-to-bottom revisions address areas such as how RDA applies to a variety of children's materials, with examples provided;   authority control, bibliographic description, subject access, and linked data; electronic resources and other non-book materials; and cataloging for non-English-speaking and preliterate children.

To help new archivists and genealogists with what can be a daunting process, Digitization and Digital Archiving: A Practical Guide for Librarians answers common questions, including: 1. What should be stored? 2. Where and how should it be stored? 3. How exactly is information stored in a computer? 4. How does copyright law affect archiving? 5. How can metadata be used to improve collection access? This revised second edition has been updated to address new trends and the latest innovations in technology, including: 1. A brand-new chapter addressing different common types of born-digital materials which a librarian may need to archive, such as databases or websites 2. Information about identifying and gathering data from floppy disks, an increasingly important task as this technology ages and its data becomes at greater risk of loss 3. Fully updated chapters to address the latest changes in file storage and formats, including more information on the storage of audio and video media 4. Interesting information about the origins of different common technologies to help the reader better understand the past, present, and future of computer technology This is a comprehensive guide to the process of digital storage and archiving. Assuming only basic computer knowledge, this guide walks the reader through everything he or she needs to know to start or maintain a digital archiving project. Any librarian interested in how digital information is stored can benefit from this guide.

This comprehensive primer introduces information technology topics foundational to many services offered in today's libraries and information centers. Written by a librarian, it clearly explains concepts familiar to the I.T. professional with an eye toward practical applications in libraries for the aspiring technologist. Chapters begin with a basic introduction to a major topic then go into enough technical detail of relevant technologies to be useful to the student preparing for library technology and systems work or the professional needing to converse effectively with technology experts. Many chapters also present current issues or trends for the subject matter being discussed. The twelve chapters cover major topics such as technology support, computer hardware, networking, server administration, information security, web development, software and systems development, emerging technology, library management technologies, and technology planning. Each chapter also includes a set of pedagogical features for use with instruction including: -Chapter summary -List of key terms -End of chapter question set -Suggested activities -Bibliography for further reading -List of web resources Those who will find this book useful include library & information science students, librarians new to systems or information technology responsibilities, and library managers desiring a primer on information technology.

Since Oliver's guide was first published in 2010, thousands of LIS students, records managers, and catalogers and other library professionals have relied on its clear, plainspoken explanation of RDA: Resource Description and Access as their first step towards becoming acquainted with the cataloging standard. Now, reflecting the changes to RDA after the completion of the 3R Project, Oliver brings her Special Report up to date. This essential primer concisely explains what RDA is, its basic features, and the main factors in its development; describes RDA's relationship to the international standards and models that continue to influence its evolution; provides an overview of the latest developments, focusing on the impact of the 3R Project, the results of aligning RDA with IFLA's Library Reference Model (LRM), and the outcomes of internationalization; illustrates how information is organized in the post 3R Toolkit and explains how to navigate through this new structure; and discusses how RDA continues to enable improved resource discovery both in traditional and new applications, including the linked data environment.

Developed and maintained by the RDA Steering Committee (RSC) as part of its oversight of the standard, this glossary will be a useful tool for both training and daily reference. The four-year RDA Toolkit Restructure and Redesign Project included a major expansion of the standard to align RDA: Resource Description and Access with the IFLA Library Reference Model, which is the conceptual basis of RDA. This expansion included the addition of several new entities and hundreds of new elements. This print version of the RDA Glossary, allowing for easy offline access by students, instructors, and catalogers, contains the complete terminology for RDA as it was constituted for the December 15, 2020 release to the RDA Toolkit. It includes an alphabetical listing of all RDA entities, elements, vocabulary terms, and other RDA-related terms; a label and definition for all entries and, where needed, a scope note, inverses, and cross-references; and two indexes: an RDA Elements Index, which organizes RDA elements by their domain entities to give users an idea of the structure of RDA, and an RDA Controlled Vocabularies Index, which is organized by element.

Systems Librarianship: A Practical Guide for Librarians offers new systems librarians and interested LIS students foundational knowledge about the field of systems librarianship as well as practical information and strategies for common projects like migrating a library system and technology planning. With up-to-date information based on a survey of 200 practicing systems librarians, the current professional literature, and on-the-job experience, this practical guide covers everything a new systems librarian should know in order to succeed in this field. The first half of the book covers background information about the systems librarian position, hiring trends and job searching tips, as well as essential knowledge on library systems like the ILS, content management systems, and emerging technology. The second half of the book provides how-to information for some of the most common and often daunting projects a new systems librarian might be expected to take on, including systems migration, website redesign, technology planning, and project management. Also included are where to find useful resources and support from the library community, such as pertinent listservs, professional associations, conferences, and journals, blogs, and other professional content. Finally, the book features informational interviews with over a dozen systems librarians working in a variety of library types across the professional spectrum, offering their experienced takes and advice on libraries, technology, and the profession. While new systems librarians can often feel overwhelmed and underprepared for their first professional position, this book will serve as a useful resource for navigating the ins and outs of this dynamic and challenging field.

Libraries today, regardless of their type or location, are reliant on technology. Almost every process or procedure in the library is dependent upon skilled use of computers, hardware, and software. Integrated library and discovery systems enable patrons to manage activities such as creating lists and holds, to perform self-checkout, and to search multiple library catalogs and databases simultaneously. This text is written for the library support staff who are the backbone of technology success. Each chapter provides a practical overview of how the technology advances library services. With abundant examples of how to apply the technology in real situations, it is an essential handbook for students entering into the library profession as well as for those who seek to become more confident and competent with these technologies and more: -Computer hardware and peripherals -Integrated Library and Discovery systems -Software applications -Open Source -Cloud Computing -Mobile applications -Networking Infrastructure -Online Meetings -Social Media -Mobile Technologies -Digital media equipment -STEM/STEAM Makerspaces -Coding and Robotics -Cybersecurity The Library Support Staff series is aimed for staff that work in libraries and want to enhance their skills, college professors who teach library support staff instruction, and students who seek new learning in the library profession. Each book in the series addresses a specific topic in an academic curriculum for library support staff. Content of each book in the series is aligned with American Library Association competencies for accredited programs and learning for library support staff (ALA-LSSC). The text is written in clear language with practical examples of how performance can contribute to exemplary library service.