Native American Genealogy Resources - Southwest Tribes

Written by Roberta Estes, the foremost expert on how to utilize DNA testing to identify Native American ancestors, this book is the first to offer detailed information and advice specifically aimed at family historians interested in fleshing out their Native American family tree through DNA testing. Figuring out how to incorporate DNA testing into your Native American genealogy research can be difficult and daunting. What types of DNA tests are available, and which vendors offer them? What other tools are available? How is Native American DNA determined or recognized in your DNA? What information about your Native American ancestors can DNA testing uncover? This book addresses these questions and much more. Included are step-by-step instructions, with illustrations, on how to use DNA testing at the four major DNA testing companies to further your genealogy and confirm or identify your Native American ancestors. Among the many other topics covered are: tribes in the United States and First Nations in Canada; ethnicity; chromosome painting; population genetics and how ethnicity is assigned; genetic groups and communities; Y DNA paternal direct line male testing; mitochondrial DNA maternal direct line testing; autosomal DNA matching and ethnicity comparisons; creating a DNA pedigree chart; native American haplogroups by region and tribe; ancient and contemporary Native American DNA. Special features include numerous charts and maps; a roadmap and checklist giving you clear instructions on how to proceed; and a glossary to help you decipher the technical language associated with DNA testing.

Anthropological papers of the American Museum of Natural History; v.19, pt.5

Compiled from National Archives microfilm of the Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 (M595, Roll #192). The census records include: census number, name, sex, age, tribe, degree of blood, marital status, relationship to head of family, whether at jurisdiction where enrolled, ward status, and Hopi village name. Live birth records include: the census roll number, the surname and given name, the date of birth, sex, tribe, ward status, degree of Father’s blood, degree of Mother’s blood, degree of child’s blood, and whether at jurisdiction where enrolled (Y/N). Death records include: year and the number of the last census roll where they were recorded, surname and given name, date of death, sex, tribe, ward status, degree of blood, cause of death, and whether at jurisdiction where enrolled.

A collection of personal documents that were being housed at the National Archives in manuscript form and had never been put into microfilm form. These records are vital to Native American genealogical research as well as a vast research tool for those trying to find their Native heritage.

Between 1911 and 1921, Native Americans submitted more than 2,500 pages of wills and probate records to the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Researchers will find members of the following tribes represented in this collection: Chippewa, Sioux, Apache, Shawnee, Quapaw, Assinboin, Leach Lake Chippewa, Confederated Flathead, Ponca, Cheyenne, Crow, Sac Fox, Nez Perce, Southern Ute, Omaha, Osage, and more. Jeff Bowen, who was responsible for having the National Archives microfilm the collection, has transcribed about 180 manuscript pages consisting of 96 verbatim wills for this volume. As a rule, the documents identify the names of the testator, residence, heirs, a description of any real estate transferred in the will, names of executors and witnesses, and other particulars commonly found in probate records. In all, genealogists will find references to about 2,000 individuals in these documents, every one of whom is referenced in the complete name index at the back.

Compiled from National Archives microfilm of the Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 (M595, Roll #644). Included with each live birth record are the census roll number, the surname and given name, the date of birth, sex, tribe, ward status, degree of Father’s blood, degree of Mother’s blood, degree of child’s blood, and whether at jurisdiction where enrolled (Y/N). Death records (exclusive of stillborn children) include: year and the number of the last census roll where they were recorded, surname and given name, date of death, sex, tribe, ward status, degree of blood, cause of death, and whether at jurisdiction where enrolled.

"This census of children enrolled in numerous Indian Schools throughout the state of New Mexico contains a variety of information about the children. Details may include age, percentage of Indian blood, pueblo or tribe, and the name of a parent. Some records note information about siblings and about the student's health, including the cause of death for recently deceased students. This fully indexed volume also includes a helpful bibliography of additional resources." -- From back cover.

This is a great resource for identifying what resources are available and where they can be found. It is written for an audience with some basic genealogy research experience, as it does not cover fundamental issues of getting started and organizing genealogical information. Because of their importance to Native American genealogy, there is a special focus toward Federal government publications. The book is divided into two main sections. The first is devoted to institutions including lists of relevant resources. The second main section covers resources and contact information by specific tribe.

This catalog is part of a series published by the National Archives. It contains both detailed descriptions of the records and roll-by-roll listings for each publication. These records relate directly to Native Americans and are divided into civilian agency records and military establishment records. Descriptive pamphlets have also been published for select microfilm series and contain more detailed information about the records. The microfilm set that have an accompanying descriptive pamphlet will have a DP following the title. The NMSL owns a number of pamphlets, please ask a librarian for assistance in locating them. Search the online catalog to determine if the NMSL owns microfilm reels of interest. If not, some reels may also be available via interlibrary loan.

The author helps readers clarify how the reason they are searching for their Native American background relates to how they approach their genealogical research. Included are sections on: creating a bookkeeping system, beginning the search, commonly encountered problems, and useful libraries and archives along with specific materials to look for.

Marriages performed by the Catholic Church on San Juan and Santa Clara are recorded here along with a variety of name indexes including: grooms and deceased husbands, brides and deceased wives, parents, godparents, and witnesses.

This book includes: marriages, baptisms,as well as indexes of grooms and deceased husbands, brides and deceased wives, parents, godparents, grandparents, and others.

Contains hand-clipped notices for the Gallup area from 1995 including parts of Arizona and the Navajo Nation. Includes a hand-written obituary index by surname.

Contains hand-clipped notices for the Gallup area from 1995 including parts of Arizona and the Navajo Nation. Includes a hand-written obituary index by surname.

This book only addresses Cherokee citizens. The rolls are indexed alphabetically by surname and then by Dawes Roll number. One can look forward in time from 1898 Dawes Roll to the 1906 Guion Miller Roll and see such things as a 1906 surname change brought on about by marriage, divorce, or adoption. Also ages, addresses, relationships, miller roll number, miller application number, etc. This, in addition to all information provided in the original 1898 Dawes Roll. All 36,714 Cherokee Nation Citizens of Cherokee blood are included.

Correctly identifying county boundaries is an essential part of using the U.S. Census for genealogical research. This work shows U.S. county boundary maps for the census decades superimposed on modern county boundaries. Each map contains data regarding boundary changes and notes about that particular census. Additionally, it gives background information on each census, including census availability for each county.

This guide assists students in understanding Native American genealogy and covers topics such as individual development and identity and power and authority and governance. It also shows students how to employ techniques such as collecting data and using electronic research tools.

Volume 1 - Federal Government records, Oklahoma Historical Society records, Genealogical Society of Utah listings
Volume 2 - No special title

This book presents basic genealogic research information, in addition to containing chapters with content on the common problems and resources available to those researching genealogy on American Indian, Asian-American, black American, and Hispanic-American ancestries. It is a reference work for beginner to more advanced genealogy researchers.

Who is a Native American? And who gets to decide? From genealogists searching online for their ancestors to fortune hunters hoping for a slice of casino profits from wealthy tribes, the answers to these seemingly straightforward questions have profound ramifications. The rise of DNA testing has further complicated the issues and raised the stakes.In Native American DNA, Kim TallBear shows how DNA testing is a powerful--and problematic--scientific process that is useful in determining close biological relatives. But tribal membership is a legal category that has developed in dependence on certain social understandings and historical contexts, a set of concepts that entangles genetic information in a web of family relations, reservation histories, tribal rules, and government regulations. At a larger level, TallBear asserts, the "markers" that are identified and applied to specific groups such as Native American tribes bear the imprints of the cultural, racial, ethnic, national, and even tribal misinterpretations of the humans who study them. TallBear notes that ideas about racial science, which informed white definitions of tribes in the nineteenth century, are unfortunately being revived in twenty-first-century laboratories. Because today's science seems so compelling, increasing numbers of Native Americans have begun to believe their own metaphors: "in our blood" is giving way to "in our DNA." This rhetorical drift, she argues, has significant consequences, and ultimately she shows how Native American claims to land, resources, and sovereignty that have taken generations to ratify may be seriously--and permanently--undermined.

Available in full-text at https://dcms.lds.org/delivery/DeliveryManagerServlet?dps_pid=IE60798

Only available as an ebook. Genealogists understand the value of a name and all the family history information names can provide. Now you can learn more about the Native American names in your family tree with this comprehensive guide. Discover the meaning of popular Native American names along with Native American naming patterns and traditions and a pronunciation guide. Available through Amazon.

Available at a variety of institutions.

Available at a variety of institutions.

Available at University of New Mexico, Institute of American Indians Arts Library, and others.

Catalog to microfilm. Available at a variety of institutions.

Contents: Our colorful ancestors; Where do we start?; Looking for connections; The American frontier interface: lonely frontiersmen; Belonging to a tribe; The rolls and the rules; Searching the Dawes Final Roll

2 volumes. Available at a variety of institutions.

Available at the University of New Mexico

Available at a variety of institutions.

Available at a variety of institutions.

The primary source material used in this guide is National Archives microfilm series M595. All entries in this guide are cross-indexed by each tribe, reservation and jurisdiction found in the title of each roll of film.--From "Using the microfilm guide." Available at a variety of institutions. Available at a variety of institutions.

Available at The Public Library Albuquerque and Bernalillo County