Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Map Information: Maps for Property Research

Digital Sanborn Maps

Available at the NM State Library for in-library use. Fire Insurance Maps online provides user-friendly access to an extensive historical map collection. The maps are high definition and display important historical details not visible on black and white map scans. This collection of historic maps includes index maps and is searchable via interactive mapping or by place name. Though the date range varies by location, generally the coverage is from the late 1800’s into the 1950’s. Features include: mark-up tools, side-by-side viewing options, detailed instructions for reading Sanborn maps, and high resolution map downloads. Color versions of Sanborn maps are a challenge to find and extremely useful for a variety of needs including: urban development patterns, past property uses and occupants, family homes, and genealogy.

Maps in this collection include publications by Sanborn, Perris, Hexamer, Whipple, Baist, Bromley, Hopkins and others.  

Sanborn maps are also available online through the Library of Congress

General Land Office

The Bureau of Land Management's(BLM), General Land Office (GLO) Records Automation web site provides live access to federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. The GLO also has images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records. Due to organization of documents in the GLO collection, this site does not currently contain every federal title record issued for the Public Land States.

Of particular interest are the Federal Land Patents. They offer researchers a source of information on the initial transfer of land titles from the Federal Government to individuals. In addition to verifying title transfer, this information will allow the researcher to associate an individual (Patentee, Assignee, Warrantee, Widow, or Heir) with a specific location (Legal Land Description) and time (Issue Date). We have a variety of Land Patents on our site, including Cash Entry, Homestead and Military Warrant patents

Check out GLO's Record of the Week and see archival records, maps, and history come together is fascinating stories including: the Johnson County War in Wyoming, the Meteor Crater outside Winslow, AZ, and the initial point of the Gila and Salt River Meridian in Arizona.           

  

State Records and Archives

The New Mexico State Records Center and Archives can be a great help when doing New Mexico property research. A significant aspect of their mission is to preserve New Mexico’s historical records and make them accessible to the public. The New Mexico State Library and SRCA share one building: The walk-in address is 1209 Camino Carlos Rey. They can be reached via email at archives@state.nm.us