Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogical Resources: Newspapers

Newspapers can be an excellent resource for finding birth, death, and marriage announcements.

The New Mexico State Library has historic newspapers available on microfilm and in a searchable digital database.

Microfilm Newspaper Collection

The New Mexico State Library has thousands of rolls of microfilm for New Mexico newspapers dating from the territorial period of the 1850’s to the present.  Microfilm reader/printers are available on site. Since we do loan microfilm, not every reel is available for in-library use every day. We will loan another library up to 3 reels of microfilm at a time. Please contact your local library to initiate your request.

The State Library also has the New York Times on microfilm from 1851 to mid-September 2008, along with an index to the New York Times from 1851 to 2011 and the Personal Names Index from 1851 to 2003.

See this LibGuide for our NM Newspaper holdings on microfilm.

Access Newspaper Archive

Access Newspaper Archive is a database collection of historic newspaper content  dating back to 1849 (there are often gaps in the coverage). This resource must be used in building at the State Library. Your local public library may have access.

Chronicling America

Use Chronicling America to search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. Chronicling America is an online collection of digitized newspapers from the Library of Congress and is free from any internet connection. Use the Advanced Search options to limit your search by State, newspaper, and time period.