Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogical Resources: Spanish, Mexican, and Territorial Archives of New Mexico

Historic American Buildings Survey Frederick D. Nichols, Photographer August 1936. House,Territorial Period, Ranchos de Taos, Taos County, NM Retrieved from: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Historic_American_Buildings_Survey_Frederick_D._Nichols,_Photographer_August_1936_VIEW_FROM_WEST_-_House,Territorial_Period,_Ranchos_de_Taos,_Taos_County,_NM_HABS_NM,28-RANTA,4-1.tif

Spanish Archives of New Mexico I & II

Spanish Archives of New Mexico (SANM I), Land Records of New Mexico 1602-1855

SANM I includes the records of the Surveyor General and the records fo the Court of Private Land Claims. The records were translated from Spanish and put in a calendar by Ralph Emerson Twitchell and published in 1914. His work served as the basis for the Calendar of the Microfilm Edition of the Spanish Archives of New Mexico, 1621–1821. The calendar includes names and descriptions (in English) of the wide variety of documents that can be found in this collection, with “Twitchell numbers” linking items in the calendar to images of the actual record.The New Mexico State Library has this collection on microfilm and it is available digitally at Ancestry.com as New Mexico, Land Records of New Spain, 1692-1846.

Spanish Archives of New Mexico (SANM II), 1621-1821 

This collection contains the administrative and judicial records and journals of the Spanish government in New Mexico, 1621-1821. Census records, military, and financial records of New Mexico's Spanish Colonial Government are also included.  Records cover both the local and provincial levels, and include correspondence between officials in Santa Fe and Mexico. These microfilm copies reproduce the extant official Spanish archives of New Mexico in the custody of the Archives Division of the State of New Mexico Records Center concerning the administration of the region from the period of Spanish colonial sovereignty to the establishment of the Mexican national government in 1821. The New Mexico State Library has this collection on microfilm and it is available digitally at Ancestry.com as New Mexico, Civil Records of New Spain, 1621-1821.

Mexican Archives of New Mexico, 1821-1846

Mexican Archives of New Mexico I or MANM, 1821-1846

Official administrative records of the Mexican government in New Mexico. The materials in the collection vary but include records from the provincial administration, treasury, legislative, local government, judicial cases, military, Indian affairs, and some period newspapers. Lists in the hacienda, military, and miscellaneous record groups have been indexed; other record groups can be browsed by year and record group. To aid in locating additional materials in this collection, there is a detailed finding aid, Calendar of the Mexican Archives of New Mexico, 1821–1846, by Myra Ellen Jenkins. The New Mexico State Library has this collection on microfilm and it is available digitally at Ancestry.com as New Mexico, Census, Military, and Other Records of Mexico, 1821-1846.

Territorial Archives of New Mexico, 1846-1912

Territorial Archives of New Mexico (TANM), 1846-1912

This collection consists of the records created and maintained by the territorial government of New Mexico. Included are reports, minutes, correspondence, appointments, legislative records, and penal papers. Also included is an incomplete 1885 census. The New Mexico State Library has this collection on microfilm.