FamilySearch is a free, online genealogy resource, all you need to do is create an account. The records include official church and governmental records including: birth, marriage, death, census, naturalization, and some war records.
Some New Mexico Collections
New Mexico Births and Christenings, 1726-1918: This collection is a name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state of New Mexico. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and FamilySearch Centers. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865: This collection of records includes Union service records of soldiers who served in organizations from the Territory of New Mexico. The records include a jacket-envelope for each soldier, labeled with his name, his rank, and the unit in which he served. The jacket-envelope typically contains card abstracts of entries relating to the soldier as found in original muster rolls, returns, rosters, payrolls, appointment books, hospital registers, prison registers and rolls, parole rolls, inspection reports; and the originals of any papers relating solely to the particular soldier. For each military unit the service records are arranged alphabetically by the soldier's surname. The Military Unit field may also display the surname range (A-G) as found on the microfilm. This collection is a part of RG 94, Records of the Adjutant General's Office, 1780's-1917 and is National Archive Microfilm Publication M427. Index courtesy of Fold3.
New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955: This is a name index to death and burial records from the state of New Mexico. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and Family History Centers. This set contains 9,627 records. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945: This is an index of death certificates and records of death from 1889 - 1945. Microfilm copies of original records are available at the Family History Library and at Family History Centers.
New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918: This is a name index to marriage records from the state of New Mexico. Microfilm copies of these records are available at the Family History Library and Family History Centers. Due to privacy laws, recent records may not be displayed. The year range represents most of the records. A few records may be earlier or later.
New Mexico Naturalization Records, 1882-1983: New Mexico Naturalization Records from 1882-1983 filmed at the Regional National Archives in Denver.
If you are new to genealogy research, investigate the resources on The FamilySearch Wiki. It is a free, online genealogy and family history guide that lists websites, provides research strategies, and suggests records and resources to help you find ancestors from all over the world.
