Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogical Resources: Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today.  It has coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world.  This database is available for use in the building only.

Some New Mexico Collections Available on Ancestry.com

New Mexico, Land Records of New Spain, 1692-1846 (commonly referred to as Spanish Archives of New Mexico I or SANM I) and New Mexico, Civil Records of New Spain, 1621-1821 (commonly referred to as Spanish Archives of New Mexico II or SANM II)

Ancestry has digitally scanned the records from the originals, improving the quality of the images when compared to earlier scans. 

SANM I includes the records of the Surveyor General and the records fo the Court of Private Land Claims. SANM II contains records of an administrative, civil, military, and ecclesiastical nature produced by the Spanish colonial government in New Mexico, 1621-1821. Few pre-Revolt documents are contained in this collection. 

These records were translated and put into calendars by Ralph Emerson Twitchell. His work served as the basis for the subsequent calendars for both SANM I & SANM II. The calendars includes names and descriptions (in English) of the wide variety of documents that can be found in this collection, with “Twitchell numbers” and frame numbers linking items in the calendar to images of the actual record. These digitized collections can be searched by date, keyword, and Twitchell number, or they can be browsed. 

New Mexico, Census, Military, and Other Records of Mexico, 1821-1846 (commonly referred to as Mexican Archives of New Mexico I or MANM) 

The materials in the collection vary but include records from the provincial administration, treasury, legislative, local government, judicial cases, military, Indian affairs, and some period newspapers. Lists in the hacienda, military, and miscellaneous record groups have been indexed; other record groups can be browsed by year and record group. To aid in locating additional materials in this collection, there is a detailed finding aid, Calendar of the Mexican Archives of New Mexico, 1821–1846, by Myra Ellen Jenkins. The digitized collection can be searched by name, date, location, keyword, and record type.

U.S., Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940

This database contains an index to the Indian census rolls from 1885-1940. Information contained in this database includes: name (Indian and/or English), gender, age, birth date, relationship to head of family, marital status, tribe name, and agency and reservation name. Other information about an individual, such as degree of Indian blood, as recorded in the later census years, may be available on the original record. Be sure to view the corresponding image in order to obtain all possible information about an individual.

The Indian Census schedules were usually submitted each year by agents or superintendents in charge of Indian reservations, as required by an act of 4 July 1884 (23 Stat. 98). The data on the rolls varies to some extent. For certain years – including 1935, 1936, 1938, and 1939 – only supplemental rolls of additions and deletions were compiled. There is not a census for every reservation or group of Indians for every year. Only persons who maintained a formal affiliation with a tribe under federal supervision are listed on these census rolls. Most of the rolls for the year 1940 were retained by the Bureau of Indian Affairs and are not included in this database. Rolls were not required to be submitted after 1940 so only a few post-1940 records are included here.

New Mexico, Federal Naturalization Records, 1881-1983

This database consists of naturalization records for New Mexico from U.S. District Courts. These record have been indexed so that the following fields are searchable: name, birth date, birth place, and immigration year. Additional information that may be provided in the original records includes: place of residence, occupation, date of departure, place of departure, place of arrival, spouse's name, number of children and their names, birth dates and places, and residences.

New Mexico, Compiled Marriage Index, 1727-1900

This database contains information on individuals who were married in select areas of New Mexico between 1727 and 1900. It is important that you use the information found in this database to locate your ancestor in the original records that this index references. Usually more information is available in the records themselves than is found in an index. For example, marriage records sometimes provide the birth dates and places of the bride and groom, their parents' names, their addresses, and witnesses' names, in addition to the information found in this index.

Each county name is followed by the approximate years covered. Note that this index is not comprehensive and will not contain all marriages that occurred within these time periods and localities.

Bernalillo County (Albuquerque only), 1727-1850
Bernalillo County, 1887-1900
Chaves County, 1891-1895
Colfax County, 1870-1900
Dona Ana County, 1869-1900
Eddy County, 1890-1900
Grant County, 1868-1872
Otero County, 1889-1900
San Juan County, 1887-1900
Socorro County, 1864-1885
Taos County, 1863-1900
Union County, 1893-1900
Valencia County, 1869-1897

New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919

This collection from the Adjutant General of New Mexico contains a diverse array of records documenting the state’s service in the “war to end all wars.” Among the rich records in this collection, you’ll find: service records, biographical materials, letters, casualty lists, awards and commendations, and photographs.

New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945

This collection includes a variety of records related to New Mexicans’ service during World War II. Included are enlistment records, military discharges, photographs, and service records. The service records usually consist of biographical questionnaires that include the serviceman’s name, residence, date and place of birth, parents’ full names (including mother’s maiden name), ethnicity, names and places of schools attended, whether married, wife’s maiden name if married, names of children, civilian occupation, and the name and address of the person who filled out the form (typically a relative). This questionnaire is often followed by personal correspondence and other documents about the soldier.

New Mexico, Wills and Probate Records, 1801-1993

This collection includes images of probate records from the state of New Mexico. Probate records are among the most valuable records available for American genealogy but can be challenging to access because originals are kept in courthouses across the country. This collection includes images of probate records for approximately 9 percent of New Mexico counties. The records come from a collection of microfilm that took years to compile. They have been brought together from multiple courthouses over time to give you a single source to search. Some localities and time periods may not be included because they were not available to be acquired as part of this collection, or the records may have been lost or destroyed before the effort to collect them all began. If you are looking for a probate record and believe it to be from a county or year range that is not included in this collection, you can try contacting the appropriate county courthouse to see if the records are available.