You can focus your search our collection of Federal Publication through the Advanced Search. Select Federal under Limits.
Check out Ben's Guide to U.S. Government
Check out our Congressional Papers Libguide to see all of our Senators and Representatives since before statehood and where to find their papers.
Superintendent of Documents Classification is a system of library classification developed in the office of the Superintendent of Documents of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) at the turn of the 20th century. It is based on a scheme conceived by Adelaide R. Hasse for organizing U.S. Government publications at the Los Angeles Public Library in the 1890s[.] ~FDLP Services Section
Click on image to enlarge.
NMSL Federal Documents Collection
The United States Government is the largest publisher in the world. It distributes materials in a variety of formats, including electronic, CD, microfiche, and paper. As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) distributes certain classes of Government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories.These libraries are known as Federal depository libraries.
Federal depository libraries must offer free, public access to their Federal collections, even if the depository library is part of a private academic institution. In addition, information specialists are available at these libraries to assist the American public to locate Federal information.
This LibGuide is dedicated to helping New Mexico citizens locate federal information in the three shared regional depository libraries in New Mexico.
As part of its publishing program, the U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO) through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) distributes certain classes of Government documents free of cost to designated libraries throughout the United States and its territories.These libraries are known as Federal depository libraries. Federal depository libraries must offer free, public access to their Federal collections, even if the depository library is part of a private academic institution.
This LibGuide is dedicated to helping New Mexico citizens locate federal information in the three shared regional depository libraries in New Mexico.
Finding Documents Publilshed After 1976
|
Online Catalog - use our catalog to find print and digital documents in our collection. |
GovInfo.gov -- Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. |
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications -- Lists and describes federal publications (1976 - present) and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword. |
Finding Documents Published Pre-1976
1774-1881 Descriptive Catalog of the Government Publications of the United States (also online)
1789-1909 Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909 (also online)
1789-1970 Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1970. Indexes.
1789-1976 Cumulative Title Index to United States Public Documents
1881-1893 Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893
1885-1894 United States Government Publications (online)
1893-1940 Catalog of the Public Documents of the Congress and of All Departments of the Government of the United States
1895-2004 Monthly Catalog of United States Publications - Commonly referred to as the Monthly Catalog or MoCat, this publication lists all of the publications produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office from 1895 to 2004.
1900-1971 Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog
